We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and delicious cocktails”

Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #12 of 269 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and delicious cocktails”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We started with fried calamari and after that I had shrimp creole and my husband had the mutton, we enjoyed all three dishes. Service was fast considering it was lunch time and the restaurant was full of tourist.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viviana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    236
    50
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic island fare”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This is the kind of place you can feel like a native! Great old wife fish creole right in the center of Charlotte Amalie they try to please

Helpful?
Thank JeffLieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, filled with tourists”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed a late lunch/afternoon snack at Cuzzin's while in St. Thomas. The restaurant is tucked away off the main street but any of the people trying to lure you in to jewelry stores can easily point you in the right direction. The food was very good (we had conch fritters and some Caribbean wings) and the service was pretty average. The atmosphere is nice but we definitely felt like the restaurant was filled with tourists, not locals which was a little disappointing for us. They also have a variety of local beers and juices which was great - I got to try my first sour sap juice here. Yummy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mafels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“caribbean food for midwesterners”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Extremely average experience. My wife had the curried shrimp; I had the jerk chicken. Both dishes were completely unremarkable and inferior to what we could normally make at home. The side of fried plaintains was tasty - but that's hard to mess up. The other sides were bland, not particularly fresh The rum-cake for dessert was similarly uninspiring.

I suspect this place might get some mileage out of people who aren't familiar with Caribbean food? I can't really understand the glowing reviews otherwise.

The service was good and friendly. No complaints there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KonanTape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat1980
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we ate there twice.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We found Cuzzin's from people standing on the main shopping street with there business card. The first time we ate there they had 3 cruise ships in port with a line outside the door. The food was good. We had the jerk chicken. In the kitchen it looked like everything was precooked except the fried food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing