We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Off the beaten path for sure but worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar

Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #12 of 237 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path for sure but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

First time visitor to St.Thomas and boy what a nice treat! Seems common practice to have people on the main street steering you to places on the side streets which is good because there was no way we'd have found this place. Locals and tourists hang out there....food was excellent....variety that will satisfy the person who wants the "island" cuisine and those that want something more recognizable. Service and drinks were great too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loveslife64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    203
    42
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pointe-des-Cascades, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Greatest local food around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you want REAL Caribbean cuisine, I highly recomend Cuzzin's. Menu is heavy on the conch, chowder, etc. and you can literally have it almost any way you want it! My favorite dish is the conch sauteed in onion, butter, etc. Really great on the "escargot" taste... The locals flood this place, so get there early! Lunch time can get really crowded so be forewarned. Staff is friendly and there is great atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Luncheon Spot in St Thomas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cuzzin's was highly recommended by our resort staff, and we enjoyed a superb lunch. Right off Main St, great menu, service and decor. Friendly staff, a place frequented by "locals"; all of us agreed they earned a very high rating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic, local, and FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Looking for some killer Caribbean Jerk? Look no further! Cuzzin's offers some amazing local fare at very reasonable prices - we were able to try both the pork and chicken jerk -- and both were amazing! The chicken fell off the bones and the spices were simply amazing!

We tried a few truly local side dishes and were blown away with each: their stuffing tasted so much like sweet potatoes that we called the waiter on it...and he brought out some of their actual sweet potato side dish for us to compare it against without batting an eye. Both were quite tasty. My favorite however was their fungi (okra and cornmeal) which complemented the jerk like nothing else going!

Dessert? We're usually the first to pass here, but had to try their local rum cake. Guess what? THEY SHIP!! It was that good. A must-visit if you're in St Thomas!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglaswski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I first visited this place in 2005 and fell in love. The food was spectacular!!! I promised myself that the next time i visited St. Thomas that would be a definite stop. And it was. I went there on October 22nd, 2012 and was shocked. I had bragged to my friends that came along with me how amazing the food was and the local drinks (Because two out of the six of us were first timers).

Long story short, on that day the food was not good. Nothing like i remembered. None of us enjoyed our meals and was highly disappointed. To top it off, they had none of the local drinks on the menu. I was so confused about the food and drink situation that i had to speak to the manager. She explained, that they had a new cook in the kitchen. And I said to myself if i were you, i would get rid of him, fast! The food i had craved for years turned out to be a major disappointment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kereyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing