We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food”

Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #12 of 269 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Cuzzin's has some great local dishes on their menu. The restaurant is nice and cool after shopping in the heat! The service was not gregarious, but friendly enough. Didn't wait too long and our dishes arrived hot and delicious. Be aware that many Caribbean dishes are not exactly what their names imply (ie fungi...not mushrooms). So make sure to ask questions if you're unsure. But take the plunge and try something local!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lkurtz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    236
    50
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Co
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We asked a local shop keeper for any lunch reccomendations. She directed us to Cuzzin's. Very quaint, out of the way location. My wife had a shrimp platter which was ok. I had the BBQ chicken dish. It wasn't great and I returned to our ship with Salmonella from the chicken. Hard to recconmmend any restaurant after that!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denverlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great West Indian Cuisine!”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Loved this place and would highly recommend it. If you are looking for authentic Carribean / West Indian food, go here when in Charlotte Amile. We started with Conch Fitters. If you like Conch Fritters, you will likely find these to be among the best you have tried. Light batter with chunks of conch, not overly fried. It is served with a creole style Louis sauce which pairs perfectly.

I ordered Curried Mutton with sweet potato, fungi and the fried plantains. The mutton was melt in you're mouth tender and the curry was the perfect West Indian spiced version. The fungi had a nice texture of cornmeal mixed with okra in a nice gravy. The other two sides were great too.

One big tip here! If you like rum punch, order their Cuzzins Punch. I loved the first so much I quickly ordered two more. Best rum punch I ever had and they don't skimp on the rum! Based on this, other drinks are probably great too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Uni4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We tried to go to Cuzzin's the first night of our trip. It was not open for dinner, but we returned later for lunch. We had a great lunch two years ago, and were very happy with our most recent meal. Good local recipes, with choice of three sides. The fried plantains and sweet potatoes were great. Worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Carribbean Food!”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The hubby and I went here for lunch and waited for about 5 mins for a table. There were so many people here from the cruise ships! We ordered conch in creole sauce and fried red snapper in creole sauce. Both were very delicious! The sides of fried plantains and fungi, cornmeal of veggies were delish as well. Service is very attentive and waiter answered our questions on the food.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jb645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing