We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Tree Grille

Banana Tree Grille
Ranked #31 of 259 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We ate here on our first night at Bluebeard's Castle. No reservation, but we were given a very nice table. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable, the food was great. I would return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    121
    51
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Each year we go to St Thomas, we always bring our friends to this wonderful restaurant. We are never disappointed! The staff is efficient which is key since we are usually a party of 10.
The owner, Liz, always stops by to make sure we are happy and is helpful when making menu selections. This place has very good food but is not pretentious at all. I highly recommend the chicken - the sauce is wonderful!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

As our visit to St. Thomas drew to a close we were looking for one final great restaurant for a memorable dinner. We wanted good food, outdoor seating and a great view. We asked at our hotel and the Banana Tree Grille (BTG) and it's neighbor, Room With A View, we're continually recommended. Seeing as they literally share the same patio we decided to investigate them both, one for dinner and the other for a cocktail. We had a nice cocktail at Room and then went next door to BTG, it just looked nicer. We did not have a reservation but found the hostess to be very accommodating.
Because we were early she allowed us our choice of tables and we sat front & center with an absolutely amazing view of the harbor. Our waiter, Tom, came by and introduced himself and we each ordered a cocktail. The Manhattans we received were done perfectly & we proceeded to the menu.
We both decided on a steak, one a strip the other a filet, and two shared sides. We also ordered a bottle of wine, hey we weren't driving!
Everything was delicious and accompanied by friendly but unobtrusive service. The steaks were both cooked precisely to order and delicious cuts.
We finished with cappuccinos and dessert and paid our bill. A perfect dinner with the best view in St. Thomas.
Here's where it gets a little interesting. I flew home the next day and, on the plane, I was reviewing my receipts. I noticed that the bill from BTG included 2 bottles of wine instead of only one. Quite frankly it looked like a simple error, not an attempt to take advantage. Also, I should have caught it before I signed for it. So two days later I'm home in NY and I call the restaurant and explain to an employee what happened. She was polite and cooperative and said she was sure that the owner, Liz, would take care of it when she got there. I asked for Liz's email and sent her a scanned copy of the receipt and told her what happened. Not even an hour later Liz responded, apologized and said the duplicate bottle would be credited within the day. She also asked how I would like to adjust the tip, which I declined to do. As I said, it was my fault as much as anyone's. The credit showed up online the very next day!
Considering I was almost 2,000 miles away I was amazed at Liz's prompt, polite consideration. We exchanged a few more emails and I feel like I made a friend. I can't wait to go back to BTG next trip and meet Liz in person.
This is a first class restaurant with great food, great service and a great owner. Do yourself a favor and check it out, you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our concierge recommended we try Banana Tree Grille and made us reservations. I was disappointed with the service and the lack of options on the small menu. The servers were snooty and showed little effort. We were not regulars like the other reviewers here, so unfortunately we did not get the royal treatment.

My entree wasn't spectacular but the high cost would have made me think otherwise. If you come here, be prepared to pay some of the highest prices on the island for a mediocre entree from a tiny menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Pork & Steak...with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a must do when visiting St Thomas. The beat view of the harbor and country side long with the most delightful pork tenderloin... Sarah was glad to see us and her service was superior... Make sure to make a reservation..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Tree Grille also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Banana Tree Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing