We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service and view”
Review of Banana Tree Grille

Banana Tree Grille
Ranked #29 of 267 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good food, service and view”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Fairly easy to find, interesting location with a great view down the hillside into Charlotte Amalie. Staff was friendly and attentive. Some dishes seemed a tad overpriced but all were very good. Ravioli appetizer and gorgonzola bread were good but pricy. The filets we got were flavorful and done perfectly. Banana ravioli desert was interesting so a nice dinner and service will bring us back for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    128
    51
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I went on a business trip to St. Thomas and stay at the Bluebeard's Hotel. This Place was really nice for a quick bite. Service was great and friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great drinks, great view! What else is needed?”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The service is excellent and the drinks are very unique and wonderful. You definitely have to try each one of their special mixes at least once. The location, especially in the evenings, is really beautiful overlooking Charlotte Amalie. Their food is also very tastey and well presented. Will be going back for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelslightly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our last night meal and it was just ok and overpriced”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

For our last night on the island we went to Banana Tree few people from the resort had recommended so we decided to give it a try.

The location had an amazing view it was the historic Bluebeard Castle it was an indoor outdoor eating so it was nice but the menu didn't have to much to choose from and the kids meals were just as expensive as an adult meal go figure but ok we are on vacation so whatever. We ordered the mussels which were good and the bread with the gorgonzola cheese sauce which was good then we got our meals and the helpings were rather small and ok not GREAT. I had the steak and it was tough but edible. The rest of the crew thought it was ok but we had less people at our last meal and paid the same as if we would have had our party of 12. There are definitely other restaurant on the island that I would have gone back to but oh well you have to try everything once!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEck4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Ambience and Food”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I liked the feel of this open air, hillside restaurant, and the food was excellent. We started with cocktails and garlic ciabatta bread and then I had the special, which was Grilled Corvina on a mixture of roasted potatoes with corn and bacon. I'm not much of a seafood eater but, the Corvina was divine. My partner had the filet mignon and garlic mashed potatoes. She said the filet was so tender and juicy that it seemed to melt in her mouth! Service was good, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharingtheJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Tree Grille also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Banana Tree Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing