We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
50
18
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
18
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstucked awayrainbow beachnature soundsoff the beaten pathcell phoneexplore the islandgingerbutlervilladeckrainforestmilesbeachesleappropertysunsetcroix
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 72 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I went to Northside Valley with my two boys for spring break. Being from the city, it took us a day to adjust to the jungle, the dark nights, and the open air villas, but we soon found the jungle sounds and breezes to be so relaxing. We discovered a more relaxed pace. We were free from modern distractions of TV, phones, etc. We found we were able to bond and enjoy each other and go to the beach, drive around the island, find an interesting restaurant, go snorkeling -- whatever we were inspired to do at the time. The culture of the island was so different and interesting that we felt like we were exploring another part of the world rather than just a generic resort get-away. Driving on the left side of the road was exciting too. Check it out if you want something relaxing and different from the typical vacation resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Two couples enjoyed a week at Northside Valley. We rented one house- Nina's Fancy. It was a very pleasant stay. Be prepared for some bugs since you are in the rain forest and it is an eco-lodge. The bugs just came in with us frequently. It is not fancy but very enjoyable. We loved the outdoor shower. The tidal pools and Butler Bay are within walking distance. The rooms are not fancy. We cooked breakfast each day and a couple of evening meals. The road to it is challenging. We would stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rvhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Ginger provides a wonderful place for total relaxation of body, mind and spirit! My husband and I spent 10 days there and we enjoyed ourselves tremendously. The house was very, very clean and comfortable. We loved being able to cook our meals which we enjoyed on the back patio, with a view of the sea! The kitchen was great and well furnished. Once we discovered the outside shower, we never used the inside one again! We appreciated the simple life and being surrounded by all the greenery of the rain forest! We could see how this would really be great for a family with kids, too! We were able to take a 10 minute walk to Butler's bay for a swim or check out the tidal pools just down the street. Frederiksted is only a couple of miles away. Ginger's commitment to green living and sustainability is well felt and appreciated. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Seven members of our family enjoyed a blissful week at Northside Valley. We rented two houses - one for my wife and me and the other for the 5 younger members of the family. We had many wonderful meals at the larger house which has a great porch and patio. You are surrounded by luxuriant nature but the ocean is very accessible. It's a great place to relax and concentrate on what's really important.
St. Croix is very refreshing - beautiful, very laid back, and not crawling with tourists. We're from a small town in Iowa and we felt very at home in Frederiksted - it's a real place, not some pristine, artificial paradise.
Ginger is extremely accommodating and will do everything within her power to make your stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anamosaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The rooms are actually houses, situated in the rain forest. Nothing fancy but clean and quiet surrounded by lots of green. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

About two miles from town, close enough to go in for dinner

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Starison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews