We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
50
18
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
18
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstucked awayrainbow beachnature soundsoff the beaten pathcell phoneexplore the islandgingerbutlervilladeckrainforestmilesbeachesleappropertysunsetcroix
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 72 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I have stayed with the Northside people a few times and I will continue to. You can use a flashlight or just let your eyes get accustomed to the darkness and you will soon see the night time beauty of the Island! It is a Biology camp 24/7, it can also be the most relaxing place on earth. One more thing for a natural whirlpool experience walk down to "Munks Tubs" and relax like the 18th century monks did. Missionary work the hard way! I suggest staying in the "Ginger Thomes" Villa. The view is gorgeous!

Room Tip: All the villas are comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cwcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I stayed at Northside Valley for the 13th anual aquaponics course at UVI. It was really affordable and Ginger (the owner) was awesome. It's great because you get to hang out with other people at Northside, and I ended up doing a bunch of cool stuff together with them. This was not a typical hotel. It has a definite rainforest/eco-frienndly vibe that helped change my perspective about resource conservation.

I'd definatley say rent an SUV because roads in St. Croix aren't very well kept.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123321123abcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

If you want a cushy hotel with air conditioning, HDTV flat screens, and high speed internet connection, this is not the place for you. If you care about the environment, love to hear jungle noises at night, want to be away from the malls and closer to the land, this is the place for you. Ginger is doing amazing work in keeping these villas as sustainable as possible. She collects rain water, uses cisterns and solar water heating systems, composts, takes care of the beautiful trees and jungle that help shade and cool the houses, recycles, and much more. And you, the traveler, get to live and breathe the clean soft air of northwest St Croix, visit the incredibly beautiful beaches, eat delicious local food (check out the farmer's market), visit mountain organic farms (go to Virgin Islands Farm Institute), kayak, snorkel, sleep - all with the knowledge that while you are having a blissful time you are also not destroying the ecosystem. This place is far more comfortable and private than some other eco cottages on other islands in the Caribbean which are far too close together to feel privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

First of all the Ginger is very nice person .The place is far away from civilization and you have to get back to room before dark because there are not street light. It's complete dark and the drive there have many curves and the narrow. You have be very careful when driving. There are no phone reception so if something happen while you out there forget about calling for help. I like the outdoors but this was ridiculous. The trees need to be trimmed and the road needs to be fix ASAP. I thought I would have to pay for the rental car after that crap. Our room was not what the picture look like. We found the place not well kept or clean. The windows are not even windows, we was scared for our safety. We did not even spend a single night there; we left and went to a hotel. If you are looking for something to camping this is great for you. This place could a wonderful place, but it needs some major changes.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beauty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed a week and loved this place. It is north of Fredrriksted between Butler Bay and Ham's Bay, not within walking distance of town. We stayed in "Ginger Thomas", and it was very nice. We had a view of the sea from the deck, and the trade winds kept the bugs away as we star gazed at night. The serenade of tree frogs was so relaxing to sleep to.

This is not a resort, and you won't find mints on your pillow. You will find privacy, solitude, no cell signal, and nature. This is an environmentally friendly property, so you will interact with nature. We ate papayas and grapefruit off of the trees, and loved to wander the grounds to bird watch.

Ginger and her staff are very attentive, and any time we asked a question, they went out of their way to help us.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gennaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews