We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place for reflection”

Estate Mount Washington Plantation
Ranked #13 of 37 things to do in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place for reflection”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a working farm with well preserved ruins & buildings for you to enjoy. While we didn't explore the entire estate, what we did see left an impact on us. There is this beautiful labyrinth one can enter for self reflection & challenge. We found our guide here was very knowledgeable about this plantation & it's history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must see plantation & Labrynth”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Beautifully kept grounds and labirynth.
It's right off the the Rainbow beach area, near Fredrickstad.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Milestoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful ruins”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Interesting ruins--the grounds are beautiful and the history is unique. unfortunately can't see inside the buildings but you can feel the history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank slas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“historic ruins”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hard to find. Once I got there, it was interesting though. Very quiet. Nice for a stroll.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A Serenely Beautiful Site”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I spent our St. Croix week at the Palms, and their wonderful staff member Mitch took six of us on a van tour of the western part of the Island. We had not made plans to visit this site on our own, but thank goodness he included a stop off for us here. As noted in the two prior reviews, this is a beautiful site, on the ruins of a sugar mill, with gorgeous flowers and trees. It is intended to refresh the spirit, and it did indeed do that for us. One can walk the grounds in several brief minutes, or rest a while on the benches. If your travels will be including the option of a visit here, by all means do not miss it, it exceeds anything one might have read about it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estate Mount Washington Plantation also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Estate Mount Washington Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing