We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun beach, easy to get to from cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Beach

Rainbow Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun beach, easy to get to from cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Nice, easy beach to get to. We didn't find good snorkling, but there are lots of coral rocks on the beach. Fun for a walk. The restaurant served good pina colada and mahi mahi bites. It's about $3 each way per person from the cruise port. The beach chairs were $5 each.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lulupitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    93
    35
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach on the west end of St. Croix, VI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Beautiful sandy beach on the west end of St. Croix. It is protected from the trade winds and high waves found on other parts of the island so it makes for good swimming and floating. There are items for rent at the beach including umbrellas, chairs, and jetskis. Walking just to the north a few hundred feet are a number of underwater habitats built by a local that provide excellent snorkeling. There is often a one or two foot drop off at the very shoreline that has shells and pieces of coral so it can be a bit hard on feet. I never wear water shoes there, but they may make things a bit more comfortable for you having them. EXCELLENT SUNSETS HERE!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank STX_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Swimming & Party Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We laid out, swam, and ate on this beach. We ate at Rhythm's which was good food. There's also a place to rent jet skii's, paddle boards, and other various activities. Great beach for swimming with kids!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AshleyBreanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Ended up here about 3 times on our visit. Soft sand beach, good swimming and occasional great snorkeling. Had the wonderful experience of swimming with sea turtles off this beach. Talk to the dive shop on the beach- they are very nice and will give you good info on where to snorkel,etc. Only downside was that several times there were large groups of residents having a celebration and when they left they, they left all their garbage under the trees and on the road. Such a shame as this is a beautiful island. If Rainbow beach is crowded drive about a 1/4 mile further and you can go to an even quieter end of the beach there. Just pull off and park and walk on- very easy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksullivan1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Went here on a cruise ship stop. Really close to pier. Taxis available to take you there and pick you up. You can also walk but I heard there were some difficult areas to walk through. The beach is very nice. I saw alot of reviews stating that the beach is rocky but I did not encounter this at all. The water was clear and beautiful and we enjoyed swimming and just relaxing in the warm water. The beach is not very big but since there was only one cruise ship in port it was not overly crowded. They have a bar and restaurant that we enjoyed. The painkiller drink was very good. They also have a jet ski rental but we did not take advantage of it because I found if a bit expensive and they require a credit card hold which we did not have on us. Overall had a very enjoyable beach day and would return

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeridean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Beach also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rainbow Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing