We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“When I was a kid, this was a really nice hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frederiksted Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frederiksted Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frederiksted
chilliwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“When I was a kid, this was a really nice hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I remember visiting St. Croix with my family many years back and staying at this hotel. It was wonderful. I visited St. Croix two years ago (always a treat). The island is so pretty and the beaches are so welcoming and magnetic. Spend a few hours at their beaches and you will sleep really good. Natural sleeping therapy. Ok, back to the hotel. I felt like I was in a half-way house. There was no desk attendant after 8 pm. The hotel could be a gem again but it will take a new owner with deep pockets and class. I remember when they had live jazz at their outside restaurant. It was really cool.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank chilliwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
13
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We went there for carnival, the location is central, couldnt find transportation, not too far from the projects, hotel room had a refridge that need defrosting, the microvave was old and dented, sink in the wrt bar area a bit dated, counters definately dated, the bathroom small and the celing leaked, housekeeping did not do a great job at cleaning the bathroom, the ac was a choore to get it regulated, balcony room overlooking the street and warerfront, resturant only opened for breakfast, nothing else.The shower did run cold on several occasions, at one point I thought the toilet was going to overflow. Bed spread smelt a bit old if you know what I mean

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank facebookman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim V, Manager at Frederiksted Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thanks for the review. We know the street can be noisy at night, but we changed all the windows to the street with insulated lownoise windows. We are not a resort - no - but like you say, an intown hotel, with all the bad and good things that comes with that.
We sure hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frederiksted hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

This is a great little hotel in a wonderful location in downtown Frederiksted. If you are expecting a resort, yes you will be disappointed, but if you want a clean hotel with friendly staff in a great location then this is the place. The rooms are clean and basic with a fridge, TV and AC. The ocean view rooms are great, but due to the hotel's location on The Strand can be a little noisy at night (did not, however, keep me up). The staff is helpful and the breakfast in the mornings in the courtyard (not included but cheap) is simple but good. The pool was small and had a few leaves floating on it but was still refreshing in the afternoons....but a great public beach is just a short walk from the hotel. There are several great restaurants and bars within walking distance (Lost Dog Pub, Le St. Tropez, Turtles Deli, Ono's).

Not a four start resort but good, cheap hotel worth checking out as long as that is what you are looking for.

  • Liked — Great location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Basic accomodations
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank andyg376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

I arrived for a week's stay at the Frederiksted Hotel around 7pm on a Monday night. There was no one on duty at the front desk and the office was locked up tight. Good thing I was staying with friends who already had my room key!!

The room, though adequate (two full-size beds, mini refrigerator, microwave, bathroom, TV/Cable) had numerous problems. The sheets kept sliding around on the beds (no fitted sheets or mattress pad). The water pressure in the shower was nonexistent and what little water there was from the shower head ended up on the bathroom floor. The cable went out after the second day - and there was no way to fix it, according to the staff. The microwave didn't heat the leftover restaurant food at all. Maid service was nonexistent - I made the beds myself just to keep the room neat. I was lucky to get enough fresh towels when I asked for them. If I didn't check the towels provided, I was invariably shorted a few bath towels.

The attached restaurant provides standard American breakfasts (eggs, omelets, pancakes) only - no lunch or dinner. The food was overpriced ($10/person average for food and drink) for what we got and the service was slow (who spends 90 minutes at breakfast?). To be honest, when we were the only ones in the restaurant, we were only there for an hour (and I eat fast).

On the bright side, the location is great. Outside the room window is a view of the ocean (if you can see through the trees landscaping the road and sidewalk path). There is a bit of road noise in the mornings, so bring earplugs if you need quiet. If you have no car, you can easily walk around Frederiksted and the fantastic beaches there. Of course, to get anywhere else on the island, you need to take a car, cab, or bus.

We paid $140 a night, and that was with a discount (we were attending a wedding). I would definitely go back to St Croix and stay in the Frederiksted area again - but NOT at this hotel. Not unless the management changes, the rooms are renovated, and/or the price drops dramatically.

Hope this helps!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Danisa204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Quite dissapointed with this hotel. Had to wait 40 mins after check in for our room to be ready. No hot water and shower head needs to be replaced. Towels and drapes smelled awful and immediately triggered my daughter's allergies. Soap crumpled in my hands. . .asked for another one but still waiting. Power kept tripping which was quite annoying. So frustrated we packed our bags and went home the same night as we lived on the island.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank qmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim V, Manager at Frederiksted Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thanks for your response.
We are sorry that your stay turned out this way. About hte waiting time for getting service at the receptions an explanantion could be, that you arrive in the middele of the shift of staff.
When it comes to the water and electricity it is difficult to keep us responsibele, due to the fact that WAPA provides the water and power... and they are certanly not very reliable. We try to use water from cistern when the water from WAPA is bad, but the cistern has properply been to low at the time.
We are sorry for your bad experience in Frederiksted.
/Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I was really disappointed with the Frederiksted Hotel because my husband and I took this trip to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary, however there was no real hot water in the shower, the pressure of it was zero and the tub clogged constantly. To say something nice about it, the breakfasts were okay. I had pancakes and my husband eggs. The refrigerator in my room was in excellent conditions and so was the air conditioner. However for that amount of money I expected so much more, at least a clean bathroom with hot running water (I saw a small cockroach on the sink). Well, I am sure for more than $100 a room you can find a better deal someplace else.

Sincerely,
Aurora
Caguas, Puerto Rico

  • Liked — The view to the ocean and pier. I could see the sunsets.
  • Disliked — The bathroom. No running hot water.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicosebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim V, Manager at Frederiksted Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We are sorry that your stay turned out this way.
To our defense I must say, that things have changed since you was here. At the time there was several rebuildings at the hotel and that might have caused some of the trouble. Waterpressure and clogs are working fine today and several improvements have been made to the rooms and surroundings of the hotel since then.
/Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

I stayed two weeks at this hotel. It is clean with a nice pool and a great breakfast. If your goal is to be downtown and see the water front, this is a fine place to stay. Nearby restaurants offer Crucian and American fine cuisines. I especially reccommend the Blue Moon.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank fenarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.2 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
11.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#7 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
4.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederiksted Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederiksted Hotel

Property: Frederiksted Hotel
Address: 442 Strand St | St Croix, USVI, Frederiksted 00840-3531, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederiksted Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frederiksted Hotel was built in 1983, and is the only hotel located within the 7 streets by 7 streets town of historic Frederiksted, on the beautiful island of St Croix in the former Danish West Indies, which is now the US Virgin Islands. The islands were renamed the US Virgin Islands 99 years ago, in 1917, when the United States bought the islands from Denmark. Our hotel is a family owned and locally managed, waterfront, boutique hotel with 32 rooms, 1/2 of which have private balconies and overlook the Frederiksted Waterfront on Historic Strand Street. The Frederiksted Hotel is located a short walk to many fine and casual restaurants, bars, shopping, and the beaches of the West end of St Croix. It is also close to activities such as scuba diving, snorkeling, Stand up Paddle Boarding, ATV riding, horseback riding, Jet skiing, and museums. Everything in Frederiksted is close by and within walking distance of our hotel. Parking is free and so is wifi. The Hotel is also the location of a charming, courtyard restaurant that serves breakfast to the hotel guests, and the community, on a daily basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Frederiksted Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Frederiksted
Frederiksted Hotel St. Croix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing