We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
300
63
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
300
63
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant next door chart house the crow's nest bottle of rum full kitchen compass rose your feet other guests each evening beautiful beach rented a car few steps own meals family owned sandy point this place is amazing st croix
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 371 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2016

We were in town to visit relatives of my husband. It was a short three-day trip that wrapped up a two-week stay in Puerto Rico. The Cottages were less like a modern hotel and more like staying in a little local neighborhood. The staff was available every time we wandered to the office to ask a question. Cottages were clean and well appointed. Kitchen had everything we needed.
The cottage we stayed in, named Carnival, was closest to the beach... steps from the cool, turquoise water. The jalousie windows allowed sounds of the ocean to lull you to sleep each evening and made waking up a relaxing, peaceful experience. I could've stayed for a week. Or five.
One of the days we were there, a group of people got off of a cruise ship docked in port, came down to the cottages and had a lovely wedding ceremony on the beach. The staff decorated everything for them. It was a fun to watch the morning preparations.
One morning, my husband booked a scuba diving trip with a local company. He went out early in the morning. I could see the dive boat from my chair on the Cottages beach. We both enjoyed our day! Me,in my chair by the water and he, under the sea!
Many people we chatted with were return guests. We ate dinner one night in the cafe on site. The food was good. (Not many people.)
They offer bikes to ride around town and many guests were cooking on the communal grills or in their very own kitchens. Eating breakfast each morning on our little patio overlooking the ocean was very relaxing and romantic.
Since we were there, in June of 2014, they've updated the Carnival cottage and made it sleep up to four people... Even though the bathroom and kitchen were in dire need of attention when we were there, I loved the cozy blue and yellow decor and spaciousness of the room.

We would definitely stay again!! Thanks, y'all!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodmavenblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Cottages by the Sea is a great place to stay! Everyone is so friendly. The cottages are clean and have everything you need. They are cottages, not upscale or modern, but very comfortable. The outside covered grilling area is wonderful and we used it almost nightly. The beach is gorgeous, sandy not rocky. They had plenty of chairs for the guests and it never felt crowded. Can't wait to return! The bikes are fun to ride into town. Frederikstad is a sleepy town, not much to do. Shopping only open when ships are in town. It was fine with us but make sure you know that before booking this end of the island.

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank Beachlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at Cottages By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Thank you for your kind words and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our relaxing, little, caribbean, diamond in the rough! We look forward to having you stay with us again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

We had an amazing time at cottages by the sea in the Compass Rose cottage. Our visit was in June, and there were never more than a few people on the beach. The water is beautiful and there was great snorkeling right off the beach! I am very late on this review, but just joined TripAdvisor and had to come back to give this place the rating it deserves!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

I will add my voice to all the other reviewers who have raved about Cottages ! We spent 10 days there in mid-May and loved this special place. We stayed in the Commodore Villa, which was perfect for our needs. There is plenty of convenient storage in all the rooms and lots of counter space for the 'stuff' that's needed for snorkeling, swimming, etc. They even provided a huge drying rack to use on the patio which was wonderful for bathing suits, snorkel stuff, etc. The kitchen was super clean and had all the essentials and we had all our breakfasts and most lunches there. Our bed was very comfortable, the WiFi was reliable and the bathroom had a large shower and convenient storage.

All of the folks that we met at Cottages had been there many times before, and were very friendly, relaxed and happy to answer any questions that we had. The staff were also super nice and were always glad to assist.

The beach was lovely with lots of beach loungers, but we were always snorkeling. You can find interesting fish going either north or south. We also enjoyed wonderful snorkeling at the Fredericksted Pier, jumping off the wooden dock on the south side. Saw huge bait ball, large barracuda, fabulous colors on the pilings, and much more. After snorkeling the Pier, it's great to snorkel across the sandy area on the north side of the pier to the rocky area near the beach - we had crystal-clear water and found octopus, chain moray and many other great critters. You can also exit there easily on the sand, instead of climbing up the ladders on the Pier.

We dove with N2theBlue diving, just a 5 minute drive from Cottages, and very close to the Pier. They offer boat dives with a max of 6 divers and will try find the best conditions in the area, depending on visibility. Very easy to enter the water and exit from their small boat, and the boat rides were short. They rinse your equipment and will store it there, if you wish. Friendly staff, including the boat captains, guides and office staff.

Restaurant recommendations: loved the Passionfruit Juice at Polly's near the Pier and had great lunches there a few times. The Beach Side cafe right next to Cottages had great food and was very convenient. Also enjoyed Turtles Deli, Turtles at Night and saw an excellent guitarist at Rhythms at Rainbow Beach one night.

Our favorite restaurant was Un Amor, about a 30 minute drive from Cottages, in a place known as 'Five Corners'. Excellent service by a fun waiter, terrific locally sourced food and an interesting menu with great salads, pizzas, and entrees.

One last restaurant/bar suggestion: we had a 5 pm flight so we did some driving around on our last day, so we drive through the rain forest and see the beach in the Cane Bay area. We stopped at the Spratnet Beach Bar, where we had wonderful service and a really delicious lunch, with a beautiful view of the surf.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JoyceCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at Cottages By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Well, I came on TripAdvisor today because they are asking us to highlight our favorite review, but you just saved me the time of having to read through dozens of reviews to pick a favorite, since this basically says it all! Thank you for being a wonderful guest and for taking the time to review our cottages AND for including the nearby activities and restaurants. We look forward to meeting you again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

I challenge you to find a better value. A true place to unwind and relax. This was our second stay in two years and it just keeps getting better. The staff is always helpful and friendly totally dedicated to ensure that you enjoy your stay. Accommodations have character and charm, totally equipped for your comfort. Then there is the beach, no doubt the best beach on St. Croix and the best I have ever encountered. The close proximity to the town of Fredreksted offers a variety of Resturant choices. We will be back!

Room tip: All are steps from the beach
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mikebU107UV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at Cottages By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our cottages, and thank you for being a repeat guest! We love familiar faces, so we love when our guests choose to return time and time again. We look forward to you stay with us again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews