We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, laid back, and super friendly owner & staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SOUTH CAROLINA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint, laid back, and super friendly owner & staff!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was our first trip to the island and Cottages By The Sea! Everyone was super friendly, eager to please their guests, and ever ready to make the stay more comfortable for guests!
Susan (Reservations) is extremely pleasant & friendly, most helpful! I have made a new friend in her!
Paul...owner....is a sweetheart! He asked us daily how we were, if we needed anything at all, and was always ready to assist in any way possible. Nice smile, soft spoken, and has a gentleness about him....wonderful to chat with.
Malik.....Front Desk...evenings....wonderful, courteous, and at your assistance promptly. He showed us to our cottage, helped acclimate us to it, the Island, and has a warm, wonderful aura and smile about him.
Reina...our Housekeeper....does an amazing job every day, makes your cottage all sparkly clean and freshly made bed each day. Our linens, towels, and things always replenished daily! Great personality!
CORAL: Our beautiful appointed little cottage....direct access to ocean, nice covered patio....able to watch gorgeous sunsets every evening.
Bedroom spacious, shower is walk-in but small. TV in LR and BR.
Everything you need is in the cottage...just bring your food and clothes.
Beach is crystal clear and easily accessible.
The Cottages are very affordable, friendly to all, and very quiet there.
These will make you & your families wonderful vacation accomodations.
You will need a car to get around though.
Turtle's Deli is a MUST! for their fresh bread daily sandwiches, with many flavors available.
You HAVE to go to La Reine on Hwy. 70, and have the roasted chicken dinner at the Chicken Shack.
Armstrong's...family locally owned ice cream parlor...the Ginger Nut is out of this world.
Everyone on the island is so laid back, friendly, and greets you accordingly to time of day!
We highly recommend the Cottages to anyone considering a vacy on St. Croix, Frederiksted...

Room Tip: Oceanfront suites are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claybabytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    59
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
160
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

What a lovely place! The cottage was spacious and clean. It had a kitchen, a sitting area, A/C and a flat screen TV. The open air restaurant next door had great food. Here's what was free: Wi-Fi, kayaks, flippers, rafts, goggles, sunscreen, beach towels, books, magazines and daily maid service. Everyone is welcoming and the atmosphere is casual. Just steps to the gorgeous beach and there are lounge chairs for everyone lined up under palm trees!

Room Tip: I stayed in Caravelle for two weeks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I are seasoned visitors to St Croix. We love to stay at different places, all over the island. I'll have to say, this spot grabbed the heart strings! The waters are the calmest on the island, here at Cottages By The Sea. The rooms (we toured a few) were cute, clean, and well decorated. We stayed in "Cowry Shell", and aside from an occasional dog barking in the distance, the room was very relaxing. Paul, one of the property owners was fantastic! We also dealt with his Sisters, Patti, and Ruth, who were the best! The 3 made us feel like part of the family. We enjoyed our time in the sun, and the water. Lounge chairs, along the sandy beach, were nice and cozy. You will need a rental car, if you stay on this island, as there is always something to see in the 84 square miles of paradise! We'll see you again soon! The Dolloff Family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zeppo1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The cottages are great. Everything about the hotel is perfect. This is the coolest place we have ever stayed. The staff makes this place unforgettable. I could vacation here and never go anywhere else. We have found perfection.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vi
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Cottages is located right on the beach just south of the pier in Frederiksted. It is quiet and has calm waters. They have kayaks and bikes for use by the guests. Good snorkeling is right off the beach but great snorkeling is about a 30 minute walk along the beach at the Frederiksted Pier--awesome walls 30 ft deep of very colorful coral and tons of fish. St Croix offers all sorts of tours-we really enjoyed the botanical gardens. Our unit at Cottages was clean and breezy with a great view of the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sailpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

After reading a lot of great reviews about cottages by the sea we decided to give it a shot. What a wonderful laid back week at this great little resort! The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling is great even right in front of the resort. The water is calm and clear making for great swimming, wading and a relaxed beach feel. The resort is small and even though fully booked while we were there was quiet and peaceful. The staff is very friendly and helpful, we definitely want to come back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at Cottages in early April. My sweetie and I have been staying at Cottages when we are on island for over a decade. We obviously love the vibe, the proximity to the water, the other guests Cottages draws & the wonderful staff. If you like a restful oasis with attentive staff and the Caribbean lapping at your front door, this is the place. Too, there is a process of continuous improvement. Whenever we visit, we notice that things around the Cottages, both big and small, have changed for the better. It only adds to the delightful ambience which is the Cottages. This is real Caribbean living at its finest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
496 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
351 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing