We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Meets our needs and more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottages By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanna, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Meets our needs and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

For the second year in a row my wife and I stayed at Cottages by the Sea in November. This time we stayed in Compass Rose which we really enjoyed. Cottages and St. Croix meet most of our needs. St. Croix has many American basics with a real Caribbean vibe. Cottages is on the beach, quiet, laid back, unpretentious, with a full kitchen, A/C, wifi, big screen TV, good cell phone connections, great patio, clean, beautiful grounds, and friendly people. It is close enough to Frederiksted and food stores (all within 4 miles) for restaurants and staples. The thing that I like best is the sand beach and really good snorkeling right outside the door. I have snorkeled the world, but the conditions right out front of Cottages is one of the best, considering its convenience, ease, water clarity, variety of underwater environment, and variety of rocks, coral, fish, animals, and plants. At least twice a day I would casually snorkel the area, both north and south of Cottages. I called it my own personal aquarium. My wife is not a water person, so she could rest or read while I swam with the turtles. We often walked the beach looking for sea glass. This is a great place to hunt the gems; we gathered quite a collection. For breakfast we made our own toast or cereal each day. The other meals were enjoyed at Lost Dog (pizza), Turtles Deli, Turtles after Dark, Villa Morales, Sand Castles next door, Rum Runners in Christiansted, Rowdy Joes on the north shore, and Rythyms at Rainbow Beach. We also went to the Caribbean Night at the Palms at Pelican Cove---all recommended. Each restaurant provided enough take-out boxes to make leftovers for the next lunch. And each day ended with a sunset rum whatever on our patio. I went to Buck Island with Big Beard's half day charter, and we drove through the rain forest. And this time I brought home a six-pack of Cruzan Rum so I can enjoy our sunset in Indiana with a rum whatever---OK, it's not quite the same sipping rum in a 10 degree blizzard. St. Croix and Cottages by the Sea are both highly recommended visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank IndianaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    56
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
149
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I never really took a proper honeymoon and decided after 34 years we were due. We decided on St. Croix after much research and came across Cottages by the Sea due to all the great reviews. This review is going to be lengthy because I want to cover other things that someone might want to know if planning a trip. I am going to summarize the Cottages now so that those that do not want to read the rest can stop.
Summary: Cottages by the Sea is definitely as wonderful as the reviews say. It does depend on what you are looking for and expecting though. We were looking for on the beach, easy access, quiet family friendly, casual and private. This is exactly what we got, so we were very happy. All the staff were nice including the maids. We never met Paul, but hear from others that he is great. We stayed in Compass Rose which is the lower level of the Crow's Nest. We loved how close it is to the ocean. This is a very old cottage complex to be clear, but they have kept it up well with new paint and regular maintenance. There is no pool, but if open, the motel Sand Castles next door will let you swim for a fee. We were there in September so it was not open, nor their restaurant. The only things that were not perfect were the water pressure was low and the shower temp was not hot. Those did not affect my rating as that is minor. The landscaping was very nice with many seating areas in addition to your own private area. There is a big covered common area with lots of seating, two gas grills, two bars (not with alcohol) and a sink. This would be great for families to have big cookouts and get out of the sun too. Another grill was located on the west side near us. The website impressed me greatly as it was so thorough and told so much information of things needed to know while in St. Croix.

Next topic, The Island itself: St. Croix is very beautiful with all types of terrain. Gorgeous beaches on the west side with Frederiksted and beautiful clear harbor on the east side with Christiansted. There is a rain forest toward the interior with gentle mountains as well. So you have it all really. However, there is very high unemployment which means a lot of public housing, people standing around with nothing to do. Apparently an oil refinery closed down in 2012 and had a very major impact on the economy. The "off season" which is summer up until November 1, you must check with an attraction or restaurant to see if it is open. With us being there in September, the rates were good but much was closed down. It was hard to find places to eat especially on Sunday. Also, while we were there it was oppressively hot with high humidity. Since all restaurants are open air and activites too, it was difficult to get out of the sun and cool off. We thought that the ocean breeze would make it pleasant, but not. However, the ocean was glorious. It was so blue and clear. Also, little waves and tide so it was easy to swim without feeling like you would be swept out to sea like lots of beaches do. I would have loved to have just stayed in for days. Another tidbit: groceries are so expensive you would not believe it. We expected the restaurants to be high, which they were about what we thought, but did not expect the groceries to be. Rum, coffee, sugar and olives were cheap though. A box of cereal was $15. Yes you read right.

Next, The locals: With unemployment high, many people just gather and stand around. You may not be able to drive down a street as they seem to not care if you go or not. We also were the only tourists most places we went so we stuck out for certain. Being in deserted streets at night is not a good idea. It probably is different during the on season. I decided to not carry a purse at all after the first day. Some of the locals were very friendly, but most really did not want to engage at all. We learned to not say or wave unless they engage with you first. Then say good morning or good afternoon. Just saying hi is considered rude. The best advice is to be patient. No one gets in a hurry to do anything.

Next, the restaurants we visited: I will review each one in a few days or so. We went to Blue Moon which is on the main drag only 5 minutes from Cottages. We also went to Turtles After Dark which is upstairs on top of the Turtles Deli. We went to Angry Nate's in Christiansted. We went to the rain forest to visit Montpelier Domino's Club to feed the beer drinking pigs. We ate breakfast at Polly's on the Pier and at Frederiksted Hotel. The last place we went was Coconuts.

Next, the attractions: There truly are many things to do with shopping, adventures and lots of water activities. We ran out of time to go to the Gecko ATV Adventure as we would really have liked it. We did tour both cities as long as we could. In Frederiksted we went to the pier where cruise ships come in. It was huge and impressive. We saw the clock tower, the fort, historical buildings everywhere, and the armed forces memorial. In Christainsted, we walked around and went to the boardwalk, many historical buildings and the fort there as well. The city of Christiansted appears to be more quaint and kept up better than Frederiksted. However, we could see painting and updating going on in anticipation of the on season. We went to a wild life refuge called Sandy Point that is the whole tip of the western part of the island. It was so beautiful that pictures do not do it justice. However, it is closed parts of the year and when open is only on the weekends until 4 PM. We also went to St. George Village Botanical Gardens. That was beautiful too. A must do.

Summary of all: St.Croix is worth the trip!

Room Tip: We were not used to the firm mattress, but some people might really like it. Also, there is no ratin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We came here with a large group and Paul, the manager, along with his staff absolutely blew us away with how accommodating and kind they were. The amenities were amazing as well, with cottages literally on the beach, a bin with inner tubes, goggles, and floatation devices. Every cottage had a unique look but were more than well-stocked with dishware, kitchen tools, furniture, air conditioning, etc. etc. The restaurant next door served delicious food as well. This was an all-around best experience for everyone in the group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife & I have been coming to the Cottages for quite a while. The reasons we keep returning are simple. This is a very special place hidden away on one of the best beaches on St. Croix. The service is wonderful from the time you make the reservation until its time to say good-by at the end of your visit. The staff will bend over backward to help you out. There are always suggestions about places to eat & things to see. The Cottages relationship with the best dive operator on island is also a huge plus. It is a real slice of the Caribbean and not another pretentious stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at the Cottages at least 9 times in variouz months over the past few years. Have never been disappointed by the cleanliness and maintenance of the facility. GREAT beach front location and extremely relaxing and peaceful oasis. I highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was part of a group that stayed here for a long weekend in the spring. We didn't have rental cars, but Paul and the staff was not only great about helping us navigate the public transportation system, they also picked us up when we couldn't catch a bus. (For me, at least, this was unprecedented service.) The staff showed us great bars and hangouts in Frederiksted and generally helped us plan activities.

The rooms are clean and comfortable (and air-conditioned if you need it), the kitchens are well-equipped, and many of the buildings's stone exteriors were hand-crafted by staff members. You're a thirty second walk from the water.

Cottages by the Sea is the best. Stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a family run operation with a great beach with small waves, and very gentle drop off. It is far from the noisy night spots of Christiansted, which suit us fine. Lots of books to read, and great sunsets on the patio. A kayak is available for enthusiasts.
A good restaurant next door, and a great deli (the Turtle Deli) is nearby in Fredricksted. When a cruise ship docks in Fredricksted, lots of tourist booths show up on the main street, which is a nice walk from the resort.
Great value for the money.

Room Tip: Look at the map online to choose a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilesEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Whim Rst, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing