We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“beautiful property, incredible hospitality, amazing time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful property, incredible hospitality, amazing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We came here with a large group and Paul, the manager, along with his staff absolutely blew us away with how accommodating and kind they were. The amenities were amazing as well, with cottages literally on the beach, a bin with inner tubes, goggles, and floatation devices. Every cottage had a unique look but were more than well-stocked with dishware, kitchen tools, furniture, air conditioning, etc. etc. The restaurant next door served delicious food as well. This was an all-around best experience for everyone in the group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    54
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
143
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife & I have been coming to the Cottages for quite a while. The reasons we keep returning are simple. This is a very special place hidden away on one of the best beaches on St. Croix. The service is wonderful from the time you make the reservation until its time to say good-by at the end of your visit. The staff will bend over backward to help you out. There are always suggestions about places to eat & things to see. The Cottages relationship with the best dive operator on island is also a huge plus. It is a real slice of the Caribbean and not another pretentious stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at the Cottages at least 9 times in variouz months over the past few years. Have never been disappointed by the cleanliness and maintenance of the facility. GREAT beach front location and extremely relaxing and peaceful oasis. I highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was part of a group that stayed here for a long weekend in the spring. We didn't have rental cars, but Paul and the staff was not only great about helping us navigate the public transportation system, they also picked us up when we couldn't catch a bus. (For me, at least, this was unprecedented service.) The staff showed us great bars and hangouts in Frederiksted and generally helped us plan activities.

The rooms are clean and comfortable (and air-conditioned if you need it), the kitchens are well-equipped, and many of the buildings's stone exteriors were hand-crafted by staff members. You're a thirty second walk from the water.

Cottages by the Sea is the best. Stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a family run operation with a great beach with small waves, and very gentle drop off. It is far from the noisy night spots of Christiansted, which suit us fine. Lots of books to read, and great sunsets on the patio. A kayak is available for enthusiasts.
A good restaurant next door, and a great deli (the Turtle Deli) is nearby in Fredricksted. When a cruise ship docks in Fredricksted, lots of tourist booths show up on the main street, which is a nice walk from the resort.
Great value for the money.

Room Tip: Look at the map online to choose a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilesEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamping Ground, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed 1 week in July 2013 at the cottages. We were looking for a quite spot to just relax. The Cottages will give you this for sure. The Staff are all very helpful and Paul is a great host. Our room was the Crow's Nest and it provided a great view of the water and beach. The rooms are not overly modern but ours was clean and provided all we needed for the week. We cooked most of our meals at the grills on site and ate breakfast every morning on the balcony. The other folks staying at the Cottages were all friendly and fun to interact with. The snorkeling right in front of the Cottages was great for spending hours in the water. We have already booked our reservation for next year. If you don't need fancy this place is amazing.

Room Tip: Crow's Nest had amazing views and provided a good level of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family of four spent a week at Cottages by the Sea in St. Croix. The cottage was clean and right on the beach. It could not have been a better view. The management was so accommodating that we felt like part of the family. We knew this was a great choice when the other guests that we met had been coming to Cottages by the Sea year after year. It truly was a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing