We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottages By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Chart House, which we were told was and appeared to be the nicest cottage on the property, for 4 nights starting November 26. It was larger with a kitchen and nice big tiled shower. We were in St. Croix 9 years ago with a tour group and stayed at a large resort but we much prefer a smaller, family-owned accomodation. We had a rental jeep so we could go wherever we wanted and knew that many of the places we wanted to go were towards the other end of the island in Christiansted or further east, but I enjoy the caribbean driving style and driving added to my enjoyment of the vacation. Although driving is on the left side of the road, for a caribbean island St. Croix is not too difficult to maneuver, but we never found a map with all of the road numbers correct.
The cottages are very unpretentious but clean and have all the necessities to make the stay comfortable, including a refrigerator which we use to cool drinks and a kitchen, which we don't use. The staff was very friendly and offerred a late checkout on our last day, which we took advantage of because of our late flight. The other guests all seemed very friendly and everybody was obviously having a very good time. The cottages are all designed with many windows and the flow-through ventilation with open windows feels much better than air conditioning, which is available.
We usually spend very little time in our rooms, but the entire property seems to have an atmosphere of peace and relaxation and we spent more time than we usually do just hanging around our private shaded patio and using the chairs on the beach. Cottages by the Sea does have a very nice beach of its own and you can walk the beach all the way into Fredericksted in about 10 minutes each way.
My only suggestion to improve the Chart House cottage would be to remove the chain link fence along the beach in front of the patio so guests could access the beach from the patio and not have to look through a fence at the ocean. Carbbean islands and St. Croix in particular seem to have everything surrounded with high fences, closed gates, and barred windows. This may be a fallback to the era when wars were a threat and security was a problem, but we always felt safe and nothing threatening ever caused us any concern, and we explore backroads and mountaintop trails few tourists seldom venture on.
Fredericksted has a very limited number of restaurants and appears to close up completely at night, but a simple breakfast a Pollys and sandwiches at Turtles Deli or dinner at Turtles After Dark are all good. Don't be afraid to go in small local groceries to get bottles of pop or other snacks. The people are all friendly.

Room Tip: Chart House room is about 20 feet from the edge of the water and you can hear the crashing waves all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brucegould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    57
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
151
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nashville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our visit was cut short because I came down with the flu, but we really enjoyed Cottages by the Sea. Very nice cottages on the beach w/ everything you need to have fun. Guest, employees, and owners are all very helpful and friendly. Need a car, especially on off season. Hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed at Cottages by the Sea for 4 nights and just loved the stay there. The rooms were comfy and quaintly decorated. If you are looking to stay somewhere to relax and get away from the RAT RACE, this place is for you. There are several great places to eat in Fredricksted but if you are looking for the night life and party atmosphere then Fredricksted is pro ably not your ideal location. The staff at Cottages were fantastic and so very helpful. I plan to return soon and will be staying at Cottages by the Sea .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murmayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Got to St. Croix and checked in with Paul. The first thing he did after checking us in was told us he would drive us to a local place where we could get dinner (since we didn't have our rental car yet), later he came back and picked us up. Where can you get that!?
Rooms were great, people there are the best! Enjoyed our time so much. They have what you need there for kayaking, snorkeling, biking and just relaxing.
The views are the best. Withing walking distance to food and drink. Great fish to see while snorkeling or just swimming, beautiful sunsets!
Went for our 50th birthdays and want to go back.
Love Cottages By The Sea!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzardmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The cottage was cute the beach and water were beautiful! The vacation was ok. The whole island shuts down in the fall and many things were not open. The island was also considerably less developed then we hoped for. We felt uncomfortable whenever we left the cottages.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amandamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I highly recommend Cottages By The Sea....clean, quaint, and private with friendly staff and management! Great location by the beach and a great restaurant next door! A very unique one-of-a-kind slice of paradise by the sea! Looking forward to purchasing some gift certificates for family and a return visit! Loved, loved our cottage! No cookie cutter hotel experience here!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong... So unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justmeagrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix, USVI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good evening!
I have to say, thanks to all of your wonderful staff for making Mark's and my wedding on July 7th picture perfect. From the gorgeous flower-and-conch-shell lined aisle to the glorious palm-front-and-flower covered arch, it was like a dream come true. All the hard work of all the staff, making our visiting friends and family feel so warmly welcomed, from the cute guys offering freshly cut coconuts for my giggling bridesmaids to drink from to the postcard sunsets you so thoughtfully provided every evening, paid off in ecstatic guests and lifelong Cottages fans. In fact, you helped make such a great impression of St. Croix that 2 of our wedding guests have already moved here!
You would never think from the incredibly affordable rates that you have one of the most well-appointed lodgings on the island, with new, freshly renovated, modern and comfortable rooms that those mere words say so little to really describe. I live here, but I did not want to go home! Cottages is beachfront, ocean-kissed perfection, and I hate telling anybody about it because I want to keep the secret all to myself! But I have to give you the props you so richly deserve, and I am posting this review on Trip Advisor tonight! I just hope they don't tell anyone....we want to keep Cottages our special, perfect secret.
Thanks again for everything! WE LOVE YOU!!!

Wendy (& Mark!) A.
PS- Don't forget the GREAT food at Blue Moon Cafe (plus GREAT desserts), Sandcastle on the Beach's Beachside Cafe and Polly's at the Pier!!! When you just don't want to grill another (sigh) perfect meal beside the cerulean sea, there is great food to be had close at hand. Had a great bachelorette party dinner at Blue Moon after amazing SURPRISE STAND-UP PADDLEBOARDING BACHELORETTE PARTY at Teres Vejo just past the pier by the Limin Cantina. SO FUN!!
Wedding week activities you will LOVE included a trip to Buck Island with Caribbean Sea Adventures, AMAZING bioluminescent night kayaking tour with Bush Tribe Eco Adventures, a Jump Up in Christiansted, PERFECT rehearsal dinner at Angry Nate's on the Christiansted Boardwalk and a mind-blowing Slow Down Dinner at the Ridge To Reef Farm in the rainforest. We wish we had gotten to do a Tan Tan Tour...maybe next year!!!

Room Tip: Chocolate was awesome- have not yet seen a "bad" cottage here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STXGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing