We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour, spoiled us for all other tours on the island”

Cruzan Rum Distillery
Ranked #2 of 14 Tours in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cruzan Rum Distillery welcomes you to come visit our "Don't Hurry" atmosphere. Learn how to create delicious cocktails and relax island style! The Visitors' Pavilion houses the Gift Shop & Rum Boutique, in addition to our tasting bar. This guided walking tour takes you on the aromatic journey of turning molasses into rum at the only still functioning historic distillery site in the Virgin Islands. This is an outdoor walking tour that requires climbing stairs and possible uneven walking surfaces. We try to run our tours in either rain or shine, so be prepared for the weather conditions of the day. No matter the weather conditions, guests of legal drinking age will be rewarded with 2 sample cocktails at the conclusion of the tour. Low Season (May - October) hours are 9 - 5 pm, Monday to Friday, and 10 - 2 pm on Saturdays. We are open on Sundays, 10 - 2 pm, when a cruise ship is in port. During High Season we open every Sunday. Tours leave every 30 minutes from the top of the hour. The last tour departs an hour before closing. Cash is not accepted, so please bring your Visa, Mastercard, or Discover Card. Do hurry to the Don't Hurry!
Schonaich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour, spoiled us for all other tours on the island”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Chelly is a great tour guide. She was personable, friendly, answered all of our questions, and made incredible drinks after the tour was over. She was by far the best tour guide that we had during our 7 day trip to St. Croix.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Misplaced-Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    181
    52
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour !!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were lucky and Cruzan has just started doing Saturday tours !! We came by cruise and this was a must do on out St Croix stop. Valerie was fantastic!! Our tour was just us and we learned so much ! The distillery is functional and if you are lucky you will catch the molasses truck in live action ! It was so interesting and we had a great time. At the end you get samples and a complimentary cocktail ! Make sure you purchase the flavors you can not get at home !!! Best rum in the Caribbean and we can't wait to come back for more RUUUUUUM !!! It was really cool to learn about the aging process and be in the middle of the rum making . A must do !!! Don't waste your time at any other factory, this one is REAL !! Thank you everybody for a fantastic day !!! Valerie is the best !!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MS_DREAMVAKAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We wish the rum making was in production but still really enjoyed our tour and the drinks afterward!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We went the week between Christmas and New Year's when the factory shuts down for maintence. Our guide explained this to us upon arrival and informed us that he would charge us less! Our tour was still very informative despite the factory not being in production and really answered all of our questions! Kief and Norman were fun and entertaining in the tasting room not only making delicious drinks but also guiding us to achieve fun photo ops!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kamurphy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is a MUST-SEE attraction on St. Croix.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This tour surpasses the Diageo Distillery by far. You get a "hands on" perspective on how one of the best rums in the world is made. I particularly loved learning about the process of creating the 'dark' and the 'light' rums.
The taste bar at the end of the tour is the icing on the cake!! Ask the bartender to concoct any one of the famous drink recipes listed or if you're brave enough, take a shot of 151 straight!
Whether you're an avid drinker, a rum connoisseur or just visiting the island; this tour is a MUST!!!

Helpful?
Thank Nigumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
230 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“You get what you ask for.”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was on a tour with two engineers, one brewer, one chemist, and one Industrial Hygienist. (For a total of four people, and I am none of these... ) The lovely tour guide did her solid best to answer the questions from this small but inquisitive group of geeks, but in the end, did something unexpected: she radioed ahead and had the facility production engineer meet us in the visitor's center where he chatted with the group for about 1/2 an hour about water treatment, column precipitations, uses for byproducts, hazardous waste (there is none), and other esoterica while I enjoyed the two mixed drinks and several samples that are included with the tour.

Try the new Velvet Cinn rum horchata, or the deceptively clear Cruzian Confusion. Yummy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Melston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruzan Rum Distillery also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cruzan Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing