We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”

St. George Village Botanical Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can stroll amid the ruins of this 17-acre estate, a former 19th-century sugarcane plantation village, which contains varied ecosystems from semi-arid cactus to lush green rain forest.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I loved the St Croix Botanical Garden! For $8 per person it's a lovely bit of sightseeing. I'm big into plants and fruits and interesting buildings, so I was in heaven. DH not so much. There is a self-guided tour that takes about an hour if you dwaddle, 1/2 hour if it's extremely hot like on the day we visited.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trinigirlmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    109
    30
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely walk through a garden and history”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We accidently ran across this garden while heading elsewhere and I am glad we did. You just need an hour or so to take the walking tour through amazing plants and remains of plantation buildings. The plants are well marked and named as are the buildings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maps5854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Absolutely fantastic. Great for the wandering tourist or avid botanist. Lots of variety. Would definitely recommend going with a guided tour to get the full experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Worth a visit on St Croix”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a nice botanical garden with a variety of local plants and some old plantation ruins as well. Easily a two hour visit. Easy to get to and centrally located more or less. The Mango Melee annual event is awesome with Mango exhibits, Mango eating contest, some lectures, all kinds of street food stands, local craft vendor stands, kids games, music and more. Go early to get a decent parking spot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Small Garden”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wonderful old buildings and some great tropical plants
It was too bad the signage of plants was not kep current.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bronwynkmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George Village Botanical Garden also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to St. George Village Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing