We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
277
111
26
12
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
277
111
26
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day pass cruise ship st croix new owners continental breakfast rum punch an umbrella small pool sea view suite the entire staff small resort rooms are comfortable lounge chairs sea glass the water was crystal clear full kitchen laid back
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 443 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2019

This is the 4th time that we have stayed at the Sandcastle. Always wonderful, great staff, so friendly. The new owners Ted and Chris have been really fixing the place up! Though the ambiance of the Sandcastle is always perfect! Food is fabulous...absolutely love this place. Want to be a frequent flyer!!
It was a bit noisy during our stay, but we went over Easter Weekend, which is a huge celebration on the island.

Room tip: oceanfront rooms are awesome!. The rooms across the street are quieter and have another pool.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandCastleontheBeach, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Rita,

So glad you enjoyed. You are correct Easter is a busy time on the West side of St Croix. Many local families gather for the week and camp on the beaches. It is a great tradition bringing families together for quality time.

We look forward to your next visit.

Ted and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

Ted and Chris make the most perfect place even more awesome. They are attentive to their guests needs. The hotel is on one of the best beaches in St Croix. You can wake up hearing the waves lap to the shore. There are kayaks and snorkel gear to borrow. The hotel is on the beach. You can sit on the beach or your patio and watch the sun set.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Deb417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandCastleontheBeach, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Deb,

So glad you enjoyed our piece of paradise. Come back soon.

Much Appreciation,
Chris and Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

Stayed here for 5 nights a few weeks ago. Fantastic trip, wonderful hotel. Owners and staff are very nice and accommodating. Love the beachfront villa, just steps to the pool and beach. Cruise ship was in port for 2 days, and even though the beach got more crowded and a little nosier, it wasn't an issue. They still had beach chairs and umbrellas for everyone. It was nice to stay at a small resort, where everything was just steps away. True, the place needs a little updating here and there but the owners have plans for these changes and they will come. Looking forward to returning soon!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 522HeatherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandCastleontheBeach, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Heather,

Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed and relaxed on our beautiful property. We can’t wait for your next visit.

Much Appreciation,
Ted and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

The room and the beach are ok. Very strange: you have to go through the bathroom to enter in the bedroom. The owners are helpful and very friendly but the whole place gets crowded with people from the cruciers (even childrens and barbecues). We had a room beachfront and we couldn't even keep the chairs to sit and enjot the beach. In spite they are very polite, we don't recommend the place. Sorry.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandCastleontheBeach, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

We are sorry you were not able to relax and enjoy. We pride ourselves in catering to our guests.

Ted and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

This was our first visit to St Croix and must say we enjoyed it very much. Sand Castle is a perfect "home" in the quieter Frederiksted area. Chris and Ted (the owners) are doing a lovely job upgrading the place a bit at a time. Our suite was clean and comfortable, had everything we needed, and enjoyed lovely views. All the staff are friendly and accommodating. The beach and water are perfect for swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, or just hanging out. And did I mention the sea glass hunting? We collected a gallon of sea glass in our week there. Made our own version of a "sand castle" and decorated it with all the sea glass (eventually to return to the sea). We enjoyed meeting and visiting with the friendly and diverse guests. The restaurant is very good and we found ourselves eating there often. My husband arranged a memorable dinner on the beach for my birthday which was beautifully executed by the staff. He even requested special wine (not on the menu) which they procured for us. They go above and beyond! While we enjoy vacationing in many different and new places, we'll go back here. We also frequently rent from private owners but we didn't miss having our own separate house or apartment. Highly recommend Sand Castle on the Beach!

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandCastleontheBeach, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Jane,

It was delightful have the two of you at Sand Castle on the Beach. Your positive energy and beautiful souls added to the magic of our property. We were able to enjoy your sand sculpture for about a week before Mother Nature reclaimed it.

We look forward to your next visit.

Ted and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews