We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay and will repeat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Castle on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sand Castle on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome stay and will repeat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2005

My partner and I stayed at Sand Castle the week of September 18th. The staff was top notched. They were very helpfull with suggestions on where to go and what to see. We had a blast riding the horses at Paull and Jill stables. Sitting by the beach in the evenings and watching the sunsets were memories I will remember for a long time. The villa we stayed in was clean, spacious and equiped with a kitchen. We grilled out a couple of times while enjoying drinks by the sea.

We have been to places in serveral different countries and within the US and this place is listed as a place to return again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JCKarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    93
    21
    11
    16
See reviews for
38
195
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2005

We go to this island paradise once a year. It's smallness enables individual attention by the owners and employees. Being right on the beach you have your own front yard and snorkeling available right there. The accomodations are very comfortable and everyone so friendly. Their restaurant and spa facilities are out of this world. Truly a bit of heaven.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

We stayed 8 days. All of the staff was friendly and very accommodating. The accommodations are what you would expect for the Virgin Islands, in other words these are not the high end marble clad resorts. Comfortable rooms, for which we never spend much time in while vacationing. Comfortable bed, good shower and bath room.
Pools were maintained and clean but nothing spectacular. The views were excellent. The on site restaurant was the BEST. The massages were great!! Samone knows what she is doing and can give one of the best professional massages every.
Every one is the slow mode, so expect it.... Everyone is in bed by 10pm and all is closed up by then also. Sun sets at about 6pm every night and its dark after that so there is little to do.

We would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Pamark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2004

Our stay at The Sandcastle was wonderful. We stayed for a week and we wish we could have stayed for three. The Beachside Cafe had great food and friendly service. The staff at the front desk was always very nice and accomodating. The beach directly in front of the hotel was calm and lovely with brilliant blue water. The snorkeling in front of the hotel was quite nice, but don't miss spectacular Buck Island. We recommend booking a suite with a kitchen. It's nice to have your own drinks and snacks and it's really great to have a blender to make frozen drinks and smoothies. Also the other guests at The Sandcastle made us feel right at home. You are bound to make some good friends there. Most of them were return guests, some for as many as twenty years. We were lucky enough to be there for the "Thanksgiving in March" celebration which was fantastic. Delicious food and great company! Thank you to the whole staff at The Sandcastle for making our trip so great. And a special thanks to Sheryl, Erma and Emily. Good luck to all of you. We hope to see you again soon.

Helpful?
16 Thank gbeaton78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2004

Wonderful Small Hotel directly on a great sandy beach. Location is excellent with some of the best sun sets in the world. My partner and I have stayed here twice. The rooms are recently refurbished, clean and the staff makes you feel at home. This small hotel offers two pools, one of which is clothing optional. New owners are doing a great job of sprucing this place up and staff members with 15 years experience can direct you to anything you want or need on the island - "Go Irma". Food at the new restaurant is excellent, consistent, and has a beach front view. This is a great place to stay if you like a quiet and relaxing vacation with snorkeling and swimming just steps away from your front door. Only drawback is that there is not much of a gay night life on the island of St Croix.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan, pr
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2003

Excellent staff, food, lodging, beach, location, room, rates!!!Very quiet, relaxed atmosphere, well equipped kitchennette. No luxuries, but no simplicity either; Very clean, well maintained. Excellent place to get away from it all! Get a car, though, if you plan to move around the island. Driving on the left is easier than it looks, and traffic is null. Not that easy to get lost.

Helpful?
13 Thank Pitias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
5.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle on the Beach

Property: Sand Castle on the Beach
Address: 127 Smithfield Rd, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Castle on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Castle on the Beach is a boutique, beachfront hotel on one of St. Croix's most beautiful swimming beaches with over 2 miles of white sandy beach! We offer 5 room types from beachfront villas to economical studios affording you multiple options in size and location of your accommodations. Choose from our spacious villas overlooking the beach, Queen Studios, King Studios with balconies, one-bedroom suites or roomy two-bedroom suites. Our quaint, beach side boutique hotel is designed to meet your personal vacation style. We maintain a sense of intimacy and freedom in this seaside oasis. It's our home and we invite you to relax and unwind in this comfortable and tranquil setting. No passport required for US citizens traveling to the US Virgin Islands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sand Castle on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle On The Beach St. Croix/Frederiksted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing