We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Threatened, I think, by staff member”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sand Castle on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 4 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I'm literally writing this review after I got back from purchasing a day pass from the hotel front desk. I came in on a cruise and was offered a taxi to their beach. I didn't know it was gonna be $5 per person to enjoy their beach, but whatever, that's fine. My wife and I got on the beach, moved two chairs over in the shade to put on sunscreen before walking to Sandy Point. Apparently the sand castle I was extremely close to was the waiters greatest achievement in life. The rude waiter proceeded to go off on me about how close I was to the sand castle and how if I messed it up he was gonna come down there! He did this while I was apologizing, saying I'm not gonna destroy it...while he was waiting on tables...in front of paying customers...in the restaurant! At first I thought he was joking, but I never got the sense that he was. It was extremely awkward and I couldn't believe it. This was at like 11:00 a.m. and I wasn't sure if they deal with drunken idiots around there messing things up but, dude, really! I'm in my mid thirties, an ex military member, and I'm putting on sunscreen, how deeply threatening do I really look?! I will acknowledge I was close to the thing but was well aware of my surroundings.

On another note, my wife and I had discussed how irritated we would've been had we stayed there and they let a bunch of day guests come over and take up prime real estate on their beach. However, it did seem the beach was the 100% only thing going for it!! Would've packed up our stuff and turned right around and left had we booked something here.

So if you're looking for a place that has a great beach but let's a bunch of non overnight guests come and share it with you then this is your place. Just be sure to keep a safe distance from the waiters lifetime achievement sand castle because ol' Mother Nature has her dibs on wrecking it and he's gonna be very angry!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hatesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpiritMixer, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Good Day All-

From the beautiful beach at Sand Castle On The Beach, sending warm regards!

Now and then, mis-understandings clearly occur between the fleeting guest and the steady staff. In this particular case, the waiter -sand castle builder was in fact joking with the momentary guest.

What followed on the posting was an amplification of thoughts inside the beach guests' head that flowed out negatively, and for the what purpose? To cast dispersions, for something to do? To delight in stirring melee as one passes through the lives and livelihood of others is a curious occupation while on vacation.

If I were the Trip Advisor decision-maker about to post or not to post, this posting would surely
go away, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 370 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel itself is okay and the beach is very beautiful and clean however, it is not a private beach which I did know about.. the food, is, amazing! A bit pricey but extremely delicious. The white chocolate bread pudding is absolutely sinful. St Croix is a lovely island.

Room Tip: Rent a car for a day and see the whole island. It is worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went to this location after our two day journey and the ship trip to St Croix, and loved it. After a short taxi ride from the cruise ship to the hotel it didn't really look much outside, but after paying our $25 for two persons it was great. We had two loungers, two free drinks, and the use of the facilities around the small swimming pool and straight onto the beach. The water was warm, it wasn't very busy and the sea clean and clear. We swam in the sea, had a drink at the small bar by the swimming pool and if we had wanted something to eat there was a restaurant next door. Hospitality was great it was just what we needed after the flights & after our first day at sea. We contacted the hotel via email before we set sail informing them of our arrival. After our very pleasant stay we got a taxi back to the sea port for the ship. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank avpe121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our cottage is right next door to Sandcastle, so we visit often. I join the Beach Club and really enjoy access to the two pools. The one across the street is a stunning, quiet retreat. The beachside pool is great for hanging out with friends, meeting guests and of course enjoying an wonderful adult beverage from the adjacent bar. The Beach Club memberships also include access to workout facilities etc. After that workout, Beachside Cafe is perfect. We dine there frequently and love our server Rita!! Bruno and Scott at the bar always make the visit fun too.
Sheryl and Simone are always gracious hostesses and always make us feel like family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank stxvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our first port of call on a recent cruise. I had made contact with the hotel via the Internet. Ann our Taxi driver took us to the beach from the port. We had the 25usd package. The beach and the hotel were beautiful. We met some interesting people who were regulars, who raved about the island and hotel. The beer and food at the hotel were first class. We all got burnt, well some of us anyway.
If ever you have the chance do make the effort to visit, I am sure that like us you will be made most welcome.
All 11 in our group enjoyed the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank redrobo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I loved that this hotel was down the beach from where the cruises let off. It was quiet and very nice. There were always people by the pool. On Saturday night, my boyfriend and I got dinner at the restaurant, which had love music and great food. We also got massages at the spa- which was a wonderful way to end out trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Do not share all the positive opinions about going to this hotel on a day pass. The beach has a significant drop off close to shore, with alot of big rocks in the water. The day we went (not sure if it is always like this) the waves were very strong and 2 of the 3 in our party got scraped up pretty bad. Once you got past the wave break area, the sea was very pleasant. Staff was friendly in setting up our beach chairs and umbrellas. The pool onsite is very basic to be sure - considering how the waves were we would have liked an option of a better pool like we have found in other resorts on day passes. There were a couple items for rent to use in the ocean but very few. The resort is fairly small, and very basic. Not saying we did not enjoy ourselves, but in no way compares, for example, with the day pass at the HIlton on Barbados. We will try another option next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenix_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
218 reviews
12.4 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
130 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,452 reviews
9.3 mi away
Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
5.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle on the Beach

Address: 127 Smithfield Rd, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range: $178 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Castle on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Castle on the Beach is an intimate, beachfront hotel on Saint Croix's most beautiful swimming beach. We offer 5 room types from beachfront villas to economical studios, affording you multiple options in the size of your accommodations. Choose from spacious villas overlooking the beach, queen studios, king studios with balconies, one-bedroom suites or a roomy two-bedroom suite. Our award-winning restaurant - the Beach Side Café - offers daily specials, fresh catch seafood specials and locally sourced vegetables with local and international influence. The lounge at the café serves craft-made cocktails and mocktails prepared with fresh local juices. Owners Chris, Ted and Dan invite you to share in the laid back, inclusive atmosphere of Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sand Castle on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle On The Beach St. Croix/Frederiksted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing