We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Dream Continues!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Castle on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sand Castle on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Dream Continues!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We just had our 6th trip to St. Croix and Sand Castle on the Beach hotel. It has never been a disappointment and keeps bringing us back. We have vacationed here during different times of the year and the staff, the Sand Castle hotel, and the Beachside Cafe continue to enthrall and bring us back again and again.

The front office staff are helpful and always provide great suggestions on places to see and go. The housekeeping staff are friendly and if you spend the time and chat with them they become like family. Everyone at the hotel makes time to go out of their way to help, talk to you and get to know you.

St. Croix is paradise and the Sand Castle in Frederiksted on the west side of the island is heaven. The beach too is one of the best and we snorkeled everyday. It is a beautiful place with beautiful people who have always been friendly and helpful whenever we have visited. We did a wonderful walking tour from chantvi.org which I highly recommend if you get the chance.

The Beach Side Cafe at the hotel is one of the best resturaunts on the island, great food, great sunsets and great wait staff. One of the appetizers they served won an award from A Taste of St. Croix - it was amazing and we had it several times.

Simon gives great massages and we both had the opportunity to relax under her theraputic touch. She really goes out of her way to help you relax.

The rooms at the hotel are always clean, fresh and comfortable. The hotel has various rooms to meet any needs. Many have full kitchens too which provide an option if you want to cook at times, and grocery stores are not too far away. The hotel also has grills for use if you buy something at a grocery or if you find freshly caught lobsters from a local fishermen.

We look forward to and already planning our next trip to St. Croix and Sand Castle on the Beach!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott_Online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    89
    20
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
179
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
frisco, tx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I went on the Royal Carribean Cruise and one of our stops was St. Croix so we asked the local tours, which beach would be best to visit for a couple of hours and they told us "Sand Castle on the beach" in Frederiksted, so that's where we went... FIRST it is so ROCKY, but we tried to make the best of it and it looked like, if you could get past the rocks, there were some smooth sand to stand on... so off went went... No sooner had I been in the water (MAYBE 1 minute or less) I started feeling stings! They were getting worse and worse and HERE I STILL HAD TO GET PAST THE ROCKS TO GET OUR OF THE WATER (still getting stung)!! I got out of the water to see the my whole upper arm was covered in stings (whelps) about 37 on my left arm and about 15 on my right arm, some on my leg and back... My husband only got a few... (can't explain that) As I was franticly trying to out of the ocean, a lady told me that she was leaving due to the stings SHE and her kids JUST received as well. Other than itching like crazy ( this is the 3rd day after) I've been putting alcohol on them everyday and I am fine, but it looks horrible ... I hope this helps someone THINKING about going to the Sand Castle on the Beach in St. Croix!! Stephanie O.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ednsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We just returned home from 10 days in paradise! It was our first time to St.Croix and SCOTB but it won't be our last. The resort is exactly what we were looking for: great beach/snorkelling, friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms and close to some good restaurants. The restaurant at the resort has decent food and is right on the beach with a terrific view. The clientelle was a mix of straight and gay - we did not have any issues as a lesbian couple at the resort or on the island itself. In fact locals went out of their way to be friendly. As two folks who work with children and teens for a living, the fact that this resort was for adults was another one of the reasons we booked with them.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with a view of the ocean. It had a kitchenette, which while a bit outdated, was perfectly adequate in which to make lunches and simple dinners when we weren't out. The king size bed was comfy and we slept as well there as at home. There was a safe in the room large enough to hold passports, extra cash, a cell phone or two and jewlery. The suite had it's own patio and tv with cable. The pools were well maintained and a great alternative for when we were done basking on the beach. The continental breakfast consisted of coffee, juice and carbs so we supplemented by bringing yogurt and boiling up a few eggs each morning to bring down with us. There was a computer in the main lobby area most of the day for guests to use, which was very convienent for us. Parking was free and easy.

The staff couldn't have been any more friendly and helpful . They are one of the main reasons why we are looking forward to returning. Whether it's Irma or Janie at the front desk or Dean, Scott, Tabra, AJ, Robert or Jason around the resort (just to name a few!), you can be sure you'll get genuinely friendly service.

In terms of location on the Island, lots of people tend to write off the west end but it has it's bright spots. Turtle's Deli is a short walk from the resort and offers great lunch options. Polly's across from the Pier have the BEST grilled cheese sandwiches we have ever had as well as great coffee, smoothies and other treats. The Lost Dog bar is one of those amazing places that feels like your local back home - Robert and April are gracious hosts that go out of their way to make EVERYONE feel comfortable and safe. For a ton of great food (especially the mac and cheese), you can't go wrong with Villa Morales. Eat at Cane Bay also had excellent food. There are grocery stores within a few minutes drive of the resort which is handy to stock up on cheap alcohol and food for picnics. There's also a K-Mart not too far for those items you managed to forget to pack.

My partner and I always rent a car while on vacation and even though they drive on the left we found it fairly easy to get around. As with any place, there are spots to avoid.around the island, especially at night. Use your common sense like you would anywhere and you'll be fine.

St.Croix is by far the most welcoming, friendly island in the carribbean - we are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank saoirseCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We were stopping here for the day and looking for a good beach for our large group on St. Croix and were very happy with the Sand Castle.

Bang for the buck is the name of the game here. The resort is a $4 and 5 minute shuttle ride from the docks. The resort itself is small and indeed has a really nice beach. For $25 you get two lounge chairs, an umbrella and two rum punches.

There is a nice, small pool with a sign that says no children in the pool. We violated this rule and no one said a word. The staff was friendly and there didn't seem to be too many guests around. I think many of their guests clear out on the days when the cruise ships are in port.

Even though this resort is a "gay resort", you really wouldn't know it.

All in all, this is a great place to spend the day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank russpatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Now that i have your attention. My husband and I loved it. Say hi to Jay, Bruno, Erma, and A.J. if you go there. Tell them Tim and Rob said hello. Best food on the island. much better that the Blue Moon. Great drinks, Can't remember the female bartender's name but she was a lot of fun. Housekeeping gals are a little surly sometimes but it just ads to the charm of the place. The only thing negative I can think of is the locals, for some reason, tend to throw trash on the beach.

Room Tip: room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank indytopdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

This was our first time, and we want it to now be our second home. Great room with kitchenette, bbq outside, easy access to stores via car, fabulous employees who made our stay so special. Delicious food at the restaurant, and very few people on the lovely beach. Each morning, horses would come down one by one to swim with their trainer... it was wonderful! No thumping music on the beach - just the sounds of the ocean.

Room Tip: Any ground-floor room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bennett_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

When we learned that our mainstay Carambola had become a Marriott Renaissance, my husband and I went online to find a new one-of-a-kind place to stay on St. Croix. What a delight to find the Sand Castle! Small enough to be unique and intimate, big enough to boast one of the island’s best restaurants, this little jewel has perhaps the best location on the entire island, with white sandy beaches and beautiful sunsets. The place is charming, and in no time you're on a first-name basis with staff and clientele alike. We stayed 2 weeks, and booked another 2-week stay for 2012 before departing. Our new mantra for St. Croix: West is Best!

Room Tip: The villas have best views, and are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllSmiles00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
5.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle on the Beach

Property: Sand Castle on the Beach
Address: 127 Smithfield Rd, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Castle on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Castle on the Beach is a boutique, beachfront hotel on one of St. Croix's most beautiful swimming beaches with over 2 miles of white sandy beach! We offer 5 room types from beachfront villas to economical studios affording you multiple options in size and location of your accommodations. Choose from our spacious villas overlooking the beach, Queen Studios, King Studios with balconies, one-bedroom suites or roomy two-bedroom suites. Our quaint, beach side boutique hotel is designed to meet your personal vacation style. We maintain a sense of intimacy and freedom in this seaside oasis. It's our home and we invite you to relax and unwind in this comfortable and tranquil setting. No passport required for US citizens traveling to the US Virgin Islands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Sand Castle on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle On The Beach St. Croix/Frederiksted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing