We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice, uniquely made to order deli sandwiches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle's Deli

Turtle's Deli
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, uniquely made to order deli sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We've visited St Croix every year for the past 3 years to visit my husband's family and I've always wanted to try Turtle's but never did.
Well, this time around I finally did and was not desapointed! I've added this place as one of the few places worth eating in, in all of St Croix.

The prices might seem a bit high for a deli but considering the high prices in the island, the taste, plus their sandwiches are a really nice size, it's actually worth it :-)

I got the Italian sandwich and the Curry Chicken for my husband. We were both really satisfied with one half and had to save the other half for later :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank TitoandVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    119
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Sunset view, tasty seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great location to watch sun set over ocean. Get there at 6:25 and sit at a table overlooking ocean. Good mahi tacos, shrimp scampi.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlliecatOOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk/usa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“good sandwich place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

recently moved to st.croix. been to turtle's for lunch a couple times. located on a section of the island with beautiful water, good sand beach with easy non-rock access to water. sandwiches very good, made to order with whatever you want on them but chips, drinks etc are a la carte! about $11 a sandwich plus extras.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjccta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very good and unique sandwiches with generous portion sizes. We were a bit disappointed that the price of $11 for a sandwich did not include chips or anything with it, but those prices may be normal for St. Croix. Since we were on a cruise I think I would have rather eaten lunch on the boat, but if I were vacationing in St. Croix I would have it on my list of places to try. The outdoor seating has a beautiful view.

Tip: We had trouble locating it at first thinking we must have passed it but it is located beyond all of the shops in town on Strand St. Eventually you will see a little archway with a path leading to the deli along the shore. All of the locals know where it is at.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MyAdventuresOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We actually ate at Turtles After Dark, which is the upstairs restaurant above the deli. Same great food, good service. They offer a good dinner menu! We had the grouper and champagne chicken. No complaints, it was all great. It's a bit of a local hang out, and they were playing trivia that night, we didn't participate but listening was fun! I can't say much about the view due to darkness,but you could hear the ocean from our table. It's not a fancy place but they have good food, good service, at reasonable prices. There is a bar inside the restaurant with a large bar menu. Large portions abound.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JillMadamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle's Deli also viewed

 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Turtle's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing