We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle's Deli

Turtle's Deli
37 Strand Street | Prince Passage, Frederiksted, St. Croix
340/772-3676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We actually ate at Turtles After Dark, which is the upstairs restaurant above the deli. Same great food, good service. They offer a good dinner menu! We had the grouper and champagne chicken. No complaints, it was all great. It's a bit of a local hang out, and they were playing trivia that night, we didn't participate but listening was fun! I can't say much about the view due to darkness,but you could hear the ocean from our table. It's not a fancy place but they have good food, good service, at reasonable prices. There is a bar inside the restaurant with a large bar menu. Large portions abound.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JillMadamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    111
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
“Turtle's is a must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We happened upon Turtle's deli after a quick hike up to the light house and let me tell you, it did not disappoint. We loved it so much that we came back a second time. We even wanted to take some sandwiches to go for our flight but we didn't have time. The people are nice, the sandwiches are great, and the view is perfect. One of the island's best kept secrets.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge portions for reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The sandwiches are huge (some larger than others). The food is great. The view is spectacular. Note: they only take cash.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LMOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic sammiches, great hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great sammiches on fantastic made-in-house bread, a great hangout with a beach and pier view. Make sure to take a look at their specials... the couple that runs this place has a great story about how they got to St. Croix, chat them up.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VATravel5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Colossal sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This place is awesome! Delicious sandwiches at a laid back place right on the beach! Perfect lunch spot.. must go while on St. Croix!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kpaige618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle's Deli also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Turtle's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing