We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Turtles Deli = Great Sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle's Deli

Turtle's Deli
37 Strand Street | Prince Passage, Frederiksted, St. Croix
340/772-3676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Turtles Deli = Great Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

When it comes to making select gourmet sandwiches, Turtles Deli is the place to eat. Hands Down!
They specialize in various imported meats and breads, giving the customer the option to create almost any delectable meal imaginable.

My favorite sandwich is comprised of ingredients that have me feeling like I'm eating a stuffed-thanksgiving turkey with a side of cranberry sauce!!

The deli is located right on the shoreline giving you a view of Fredericksted's oceanfront, while basking in the Caribbean breeze. Turtles = Sandwiches

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    111
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome sandwiches, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wonderful place with fantastic fresh sandwiches and a good bottle beer selection. Favorite lunch spot in Fredricksted!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaniWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb deli on west side of St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Turtle's has terrific sandwiches. We especially enjoy the Reubens, but everything we've tried has been excellent. Fair warning: the sandwiches are quite large. Don't fill up on chips while you're waiting!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Laid back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good sandwiches, about $10-15 each, made while you wait. Lots of novels line the walls, you could sit & read. Very friendly cat lives here. Resident rooster strolled by. A coffee/expresso bar is present, but looked seldom used. Very nice covered outdoor dining patio. I got the impression that a large percentage of their new customers visit due to tripadvisor reviews, they even have a tripadvisor decal on display. I thought sandwiches were large, not colossal, but tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Eclectic and LARGE sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice views while waiting and eating. Sandwiches were unique and hard to decide the all sounded yummy combinations. Price for our sandwich w/out chips was 10 so we thought it might be large and decided to split one. Glad we did. I could barely finish my half. We were there during a slow time and saw lots of locals coming and getting to-go orders. That's always a good sign. Only draw back is parking. Large drainage ditch so be careful pulling into spaces on street and only 3 spaces down the little alley way. Worth the walk if u have too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IdoLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle's Deli also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Turtle's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing