We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb deli on west side of St. Croix”
Review of Turtle's Deli

Turtle's Deli
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb deli on west side of St. Croix”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Turtle's has terrific sandwiches. We especially enjoy the Reubens, but everything we've tried has been excellent. Fair warning: the sandwiches are quite large. Don't fill up on chips while you're waiting!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    141
    25
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Laid back”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good sandwiches, about $10-15 each, made while you wait. Lots of novels line the walls, you could sit & read. Very friendly cat lives here. Resident rooster strolled by. A coffee/expresso bar is present, but looked seldom used. Very nice covered outdoor dining patio. I got the impression that a large percentage of their new customers visit due to tripadvisor reviews, they even have a tripadvisor decal on display. I thought sandwiches were large, not colossal, but tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Eclectic and LARGE sandwiches”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice views while waiting and eating. Sandwiches were unique and hard to decide the all sounded yummy combinations. Price for our sandwich w/out chips was 10 so we thought it might be large and decided to split one. Glad we did. I could barely finish my half. We were there during a slow time and saw lots of locals coming and getting to-go orders. That's always a good sign. Only draw back is parking. Large drainage ditch so be careful pulling into spaces on street and only 3 spaces down the little alley way. Worth the walk if u have too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IdoLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bigger sandwiches than you can finish!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great deli sandwiches with the usual array of beers and soft drinks.
Can get crowded at lunchtime. Eat with your toes in the sand with an ocean view!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MilesEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome sandwiches”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch at Turtle Deli. You get huge portions for the money and everyhing was delicious. Awesome place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sug47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle's Deli also viewed

 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Turtle's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing