We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food at decent price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle's Deli

Turtle's Deli
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Poway, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food at decent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We read the reviews for this place and agree. Our sandwich was big enough to share and very tasty. One of the better possibilities on St. Croix. The owners are friendly, too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    119
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was the one restaurant on the island that EVERYONE said we had to try. The owners make their own bread and it was delicious. We were on St. Croix for a week and this is the only place we ate twice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average Food but Great Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I tried Turtle's knowing that as vegetarians our options would probably be limited and the massive sandwiches they are known for would probably be mostly meat-laden however we gave it a shot anyway. We were not disappointed but not overly impressed either. We shared the mushroom melt and it was fairly bland and not very large. The setting and the waitstaff couldn't have been nicer however. Carnivores will love this place but herbivores not so much.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evenings are best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

While the Deli is good during the day, the restaurant at nights offers good food at reasonable prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebraC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Large portions that will hold you for most of the day. Good quality meat and bread. Would recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benni777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle's Deli also viewed

 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Turtle's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing