We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunset Views”
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy our beautiful, open-air, seaside terrace restaurant offering cuisine to satiate discriminating palates in a romantic Caribbean setting. Picture yourself looking out into the horizon from your beach side table and watching the spectacular sunset each and every day! Dining at the Beach Side Cafe is truly an extraordinary experience. Lunches are casual, breezy, and scrumptious, and dinner is simply a magical moment wrapped up into a perfect evening. The Iguana Lounge features daily Happy Hour specials and small plates to accompany your favorite cocktail and join us for live local music every Saturday night.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Sunset Views”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Beach Side Cafe is a great place to view the sunset while dining. The sun sets directly over the water. There are only a few tables right on the rail next to the beach, so be sure to make a reservation and ask for one. We had requested a table on the beach based on other reviews, but it appeared that they were not doing those that night or maybe they were doing them later. They did have a table reserved for us right at the railing next to the beach.

We are not foodies so we do not eat a lot of exotic or complicated dishes, but the food was great. The staff was nice and attentive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TarHeelBorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    95
    33
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
181 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great cuisine and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went on a non-busy day, after returning from the stables. The food selections and drinks were terrific, and the service was great. We also enjoyed swimming on the less crowded beach with beautiful views of the Frederiksted pier.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed this Time Around”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was disappointed on this trip with Sand Castle's food. The special of the night was a pricey Sesame Tuna. We both ordered it and asked for it to come very rare. My husband's was cooked correctly but mine was too well done, grey at one end and barely pink at the other. Very disappointing. The waitress was all over the place and no one came to check and ask how we liked the food. I would have sent it back if they had. By the time someone came my husband was already done eating. I would not order the tuna here again. The drinks were good, should have asked for the recipe for the one I had :). There are other restaurants to try and we go almost every year so maybe we will give this a pass next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxwellkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3x Great”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great food,Great drinks,Great beach side sunset views Who could ask for more. Oh I tried their Compashio-Cocconut rum ,pinapple juice Pistashio liquor and cocco lopez.YUM

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“MUST eat here!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This place was absolutely amazing. You will never find a more beautiful sunset dinner setting. We sat literally on the beach. A gentleman from the restaurant was finishing up the final touches on the most amazing and detailed sandcastle. He lit tiki torches in the sand around it so you could see it. The sunset was absolutely amazing. The wind was calm and the ocean like a postcard. And that's just the ambiance!! We ordered the firecracker shrimp to start and they were fresh and out of this world. You MUST order a Bougainvillea to drink! (its actually pictured behind the beer above! So refreshing! The staff were so attentive and the live music was straight out of a cabaret. Cant say enough about this amazing restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dziukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing