We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review from a chef.”
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy our beautiful, open-air, seaside terrace restaurant offering cuisine to satiate discriminating palates in a romantic Caribbean setting. Picture yourself looking out into the horizon from your beach side table and watching the spectacular sunset each and every day! Dining at the Beach Side Cafe is truly an extraordinary experience. Lunches are casual from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Our bar menu is available from 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Dinner starting at 5:00 - 9:00, is simply magical!!! Our award winning Chef Shawn Riley and his staff serve fresh seafood, prime steak, local vegetables with a wide variety of local and international influence. The bar features an array of delicious cocktails and mocktails by Dylan Rhyder and his staff. Saturday and Sunday we have our Beach Side Brunch from 10:00 - 3:00. Reservations are suggested but not required.
1 review
“Review from a chef.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

the food was great, portions way to big. I am a chef from the US and would come back again. Wish they offered half portions at 75% if the cost bc I would eat here all meals. Drinks were good. Beach sounds 40 feet away while you eat. Amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockyrockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    96
    34
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but went there for Sunday brunch on a recommendation. The food was good and the service excellent! Bruno was helpful, informative about the attractions on the island and sang Happy Birthday to our neighboring table with a voice fit for the opera. The view is magnificent, the cocktails were tasty and the grounds were beautiful. My dish was good, and my companion's was fantastic. Thanks to Sand Castle and their employees for contributing to our awesome St Croix experience!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just got back from Sandcastle on the Beach. Our meals at the Beach Side Cafe were delicious! The first night we had a 22oz ribeye with garlic mashed potatoes and vegetables. It was a Saturday night, so the band was playing and we had candle lit table by the sea. During our stay, we also enjoyed lamb, calamari, giant burgers, and daily specials. The drinks weren't too bad either! The bartenders always had fresh fruit available for something fun to put in the blender.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SpencerCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock,ny
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing view ...great food!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Beach Side was right next door to our little paradise at Cottages and we ate here almost everyday! The food was really good, service (thank you Rita!) always spot on...and personable. Scott, the bartender is a wonderful guy and the whole experience there kept us coming back night after night!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katewoodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last week a group of 12 + chefs decided to go out for dinner. 5 of is were from places outside St Croix. One of the chefs pick the Beach Side Café at the Sand Castle Hotel. We all had many different drinks, appetizers and of course main entrees. Service was superb! Our waiter was professional and had our order exactly correct. The quality of the food was excellent. We had everything from sandwiches, to chicken parmesan to steaks. Everything was prepared exactly how expected. We were a bunch of tourists that were treated like family. The total check was very reasonable. I will be a return customer. I strongly recommend this café to all that visit the beautiful Island of St Croix.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChefJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing