We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review from a chef.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy our beautiful, open-air, seaside terrace restaurant offering cuisine to satiate discriminating palates in a romantic Caribbean setting. Picture yourself looking out into the horizon from your beach side table and watching the spectacular sunset each and every day! Dining at the Beach Side Cafe is truly an extraordinary experience. Lunches are casual, breezy, and scrumptious, and dinner is simply a magical moment wrapped up into a perfect evening. The Iguana Lounge features daily Happy Hour specials and small plates to accompany your favorite cocktail and join us for live local music every Saturday night.
1 review
“Review from a chef.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

the food was great, portions way to big. I am a chef from the US and would come back again. Wish they offered half portions at 75% if the cost bc I would eat here all meals. Drinks were good. Beach sounds 40 feet away while you eat. Amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockyrockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    87
    32
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but went there for Sunday brunch on a recommendation. The food was good and the service excellent! Bruno was helpful, informative about the attractions on the island and sang Happy Birthday to our neighboring table with a voice fit for the opera. The view is magnificent, the cocktails were tasty and the grounds were beautiful. My dish was good, and my companion's was fantastic. Thanks to Sand Castle and their employees for contributing to our awesome St Croix experience!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just got back from Sandcastle on the Beach. Our meals at the Beach Side Cafe were delicious! The first night we had a 22oz ribeye with garlic mashed potatoes and vegetables. It was a Saturday night, so the band was playing and we had candle lit table by the sea. During our stay, we also enjoyed lamb, calamari, giant burgers, and daily specials. The drinks weren't too bad either! The bartenders always had fresh fruit available for something fun to put in the blender.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SpencerCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock,ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing view ...great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Beach Side was right next door to our little paradise at Cottages and we ate here almost everyday! The food was really good, service (thank you Rita!) always spot on...and personable. Scott, the bartender is a wonderful guy and the whole experience there kept us coming back night after night!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katewoodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last week a group of 12 + chefs decided to go out for dinner. 5 of is were from places outside St Croix. One of the chefs pick the Beach Side Café at the Sand Castle Hotel. We all had many different drinks, appetizers and of course main entrees. Service was superb! Our waiter was professional and had our order exactly correct. The quality of the food was excellent. We had everything from sandwiches, to chicken parmesan to steaks. Everything was prepared exactly how expected. We were a bunch of tourists that were treated like family. The total check was very reasonable. I will be a return customer. I strongly recommend this café to all that visit the beautiful Island of St Croix.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChefJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing