We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great views and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy our beautiful, open-air, seaside terrace restaurant offering cuisine to satiate discriminating palates in a romantic Caribbean setting. Picture yourself looking out into the horizon from your beach side table and watching the spectacular sunset each and every day! Dining at the Beach Side Cafe is truly an extraordinary experience. Lunches are casual, breezy, and scrumptious, and dinner is simply a magical moment wrapped up into a perfect evening. The Iguana Lounge features daily Happy Hour specials and small plates to accompany your favorite cocktail and join us for live local music every Saturday night.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great views and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Try to book a beach side table and get there early enough for the not-to-be-missed sunsets. Live music most nights, menu features local fish and a variety of dishes to please most diners

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tallgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    77
    27
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal intimate setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great truly beachside restaurant. Wonderful romantic setting. Great food. Worth the visit. Our party of 8 had a wonderful time here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank agrave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food and setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Have enjoyed a lunch and a dinner here over the past year. Food and service were very good both times. And the seaside location can't be beat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BaHaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Dreadful service, average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The view of the beach is wonderful. However the food quality is average at best. My rare hamburger, for example, was the most overlooked burger I have had the misfortune to eat. However it was the service quality which is the worst. Service was slow throughout. The check at the end was incorrect by two dollars - for a diet coke I didn't get, as they had run out of all diet drinks, but still charged me for my initial order. It then took thirty minutes(!) to get a correct check, as the very polite waitress had to get the new check approved by her manager, who ignored us as she talked to guests at another table. Best avoided despite the view.

Helpful?
Thank geoffrey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
1 review
“Great Food, Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Awesome food and view for Christmas Dinner but the dinner started out poorly when they didn't have our reservation and sat us at a table that was not yet set. From there we waited for a server. Things started going smoothly but then our very sweet server quickly brought out each course, sometimes before the dishes were cleared from the course before. Then she quickly brought the check before we were finished with dessert and never even asked us if we wanted anything else. I understand that she may have been flustered but I expect to be treated a little better when I pay $100 for two people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stxcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing