We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“authentically delicioso” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Morales

Villa Morales
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“authentically delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Villa Morales is a Latin/Caribbean gem off the beaten path near Frederiksted. As noted, it's only open 3 days a week for lunch and dinner so plan accordingly. The mojitos are VERY refreshing and the food is just delicious...not fancy or trendy. Just great home cooking. Lunch is a little sleepy but dinner service is jam-packed so reservations are a must. JT and his family are delightfully friendly. If you're visiting, it's worth to get away from the tourist-oriented places to find Villa Morales.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BaHaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Local Home Cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an island gem. It's only open Thurs.-Sat. so you have to plan ahead but it's worth it. I have eaten Puerto Rican and Caribbean food all over and this was some of the very best I've ever had. I don't know how you make beans like that, but they were incredible. I enjoy eating goat and the stew goat was the best I've had anywhere. My companions had fresh wahoo and salmon balls and loved them. We all enjoyed the johnny cakes too. I thought the conch chowder was way too salty but the conch was very tender. We were greeted by the owners as if they knew us but we had never met. The service was prompt and courteous. You can eat outside as we did on the warm night or inside where there is AC. We will be back to try everything on the menu when we can!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Croix and Floridaz
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just like being home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've returned to our favorite Saturday night dinner spot at Villa Morales. It is more like being at home....whether a frequent guest or a new guest you'll not get a warmer welcome than at Villa Morales. JT's mojitos are the best, the food authentic, Angie keeps things running smoothly, Joyce and Carmen take good care of you at the table.
Don't miss it. Look for the sign off Centerline Road just outside of Frederiksted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stxvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanna, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Villa Morales is highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I are spending our first-ever trip to St. Croix and stumbled on to this local eatery. We had lunch there twice and enjoyed both visits. Family-owned, we got to know both JT and Joyce. JT is a fellow Lion and their local club meets at this restaurant twice a month. I knew it would be good because Lions know how to eat. The place is large, clean, and well-run. The local food is fantastic---no fries, just rice and beans, but delicious. Many unique choices. This is what makes travel fun. If you're on St. Croix, add this to your must-dos.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Local Treasure Buried Near West End of St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Vila Morales, a family owned and operated Caribbean eatery ;ocated near the West End of the Island of St. Croix, has been a weekend refuge for my family and me for decades. They have been in business for well over fifty years; there is also a guest house attached with very nice, cozy rooms as well. They offer classic local Caribe style menu selection which hardly vary from week to week. The menu, written on a small white board which makes its way to your table courtesy of one of the friendly, efficient and mostly family wait staff, is small enough for habitues to have it well memorized. One can choose from beef or goat stew, a variety of fish/seafood dishes, chicken, a variety of pates (island style pasties), and other traditional Caribe plated. Any and everything on offer is well prepared and delicious, and the variety of side dishes--no less palatable--makes for an available variety that keeps the entire menu fresh and vibrant. Try the Fungi, which is not a mushroom dish but a dish of steamed finely gound corn meal and an old-time staple. It is a natural accompaniment to seafood.They offer one of the two best potato salads on the island, by the by...and the value for money is outstanding. Also, ask JT to make you one of his Mojitos--the best, I feel, in the Northern Hemisphere! Villa Morales opens at 10:30 AM ONLY ON Thursdays, Friday and Saturdays; they remain open "until". They also offer catering.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Morales also viewed

 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Villa Morales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing