We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Got what you need for business trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holger Danske Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holger Danske Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Got what you need for business trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I got to St Croix for business on Oct 23 returning on Oct 24. The rooms have wi-fi, a table and TV (the old big ones). The rooms need to be updated since the looked worn but I didn't mind cause i was just there for one night on business. The room was cleaned and I felt safe.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank janisse_robles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
14
26
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleburne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel, perfect location, huge room, must be 20'x20' not including bathroom, clean, comfy bed, hotel staff very informative. Refrig, microwave, coffee pot. Internet was great on wifi, they do have wired internet if needed, never needed it, Parking is small, but anywhere on the islands parking is always sketchy, park where you can, nobody seems to mind where you park. great restaurant, Angry Nate's, perfect food!!! you are steps away form the pier. Would stay here for any trip to St Croix.

Room Tip: I like first floor rooms, being a business trip, have a lot of things to take in and out of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I love to travel, and would rather spend money on experiences than hotel rooms. I look for clean, safe and convenient, preferably all with a great price. The Holger Danske provided it all. The rooms were comfortable, the ladies at the front desk were helpful and kind, the cleaning lady was there everyday to tidy up, and it was a perfect base from which to launch our adventures. Stepping outside our door, we saw every beautiful plant and tree that grew on the island lining the path. I'd happily stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank mbwinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Recently stayed in the Holger Danske in Christiansted for 4 nights. Booked a King Bed room and was given the ground floor room #108. We enjoyed the privacy of the closed-in patio as opposed to the open ones on the upper floors. The only rooms with a good, unobstructed Harbour View are #215 and #315. We didn't mind not having a view inasmuch as we were only a few steps from being on the Boardwalk. There is no elevator on the premises so the ground floor room was a blessing to these senior citizens. Room was very clean and everything worked well except the Internet. We were given a small router for the room but could never get it to work. Others were having the same problem while we were there. We were able to access the internet on our IPad from the Hotel Lobby. Did not experience water pressure problems that precious reviewers had mentioned. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Beware of mosquitoes on the Boardwalk at dusk. They are ferocious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our room was on the third floor, with a vaulted ceiling. Very clean with good beds and TV, nice balcony, which, while it did not have a view, had two reclining chairs and a table. In the room was a dining table with two chairs as well as a functioning stove and refrigerator! We loved the room. The parking lot was very small and hard to park in. The rooms are along a path leading away from the water from, with three stories, and two rooms on each level at each different entry and stairway...This did make one feel a little isolated at times and apprehensive about security, but we had no problems and loves our room and its proximity to the boardwalk and restaurants. Liked Angy Nates, the restaurant associated with this property. There is also a nice pool and roof deck for hotel guests. So, overall, we were very pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: I like the third floor, if you are willing and able to carry your luggage up those flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugarloaf
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

There isn't much to see or do in St. Croix but if you are going you must stay in Christiansted next to the waterfront. There are only four hotels on this front and this is one of them. The staff is
great, nice rooms, reasonable prices considering the location, nice pool, and right on the boardwalk. Also, you can take the seaplane almost outside of your room. Loved to walk the boardwalk and sit on the benches watching the people walk by, enjoying the beautiful view. I highly recommend this hotel. I did not eat at any of the restaurants on the boardwalk as I like to eat where the locals go. Found a great place for breakfast on Company Street called the Twin City Cafe. Had spiced oatmeal, fresh squeezed orange juice, then back for lunch for a three salad combo. Open from 7 to 3, one block directly up from the fort.

As to getting there from the airport rather than take a taxi for $20 I hitchhiked a ride to the local
bus stop and took a local bus to the hotel for $2. Since I took the seaplane from the boardwalk
I didn't have to go back to the airport. There is little to do in Christiansted except relax and enjoy the beautiful harbor. Of course, there are snorkeling and boating trips but I snorkeled in Bonaire so didn't go here.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upper room for the fresh air. Make sure the room does not face another wall. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Georges Caye
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights on business.
Room (one king) and bed adequate. No problems sleeping. However if you are a late riser be aware that the local cockerels like to welcome the dawn.
Water pressure abysmal....have to dance around in the shower to get wet. I believe this problem is not exclusive to this hotel.
Air conditioning good.
Refrigerator, microwave and coffee machine, all OK
Room had a good size balcony with table & two chairs. Ground floor room - no view, however the balcony was "fenced' in with pleasant shrubery. Fine for sitting outside in the evening with a cocktail.
Internet, wired or wireless was terrible and intermittent.
Location of the hotel is excellent if you don't need a sea view, and the boardwalk with all the tourist stuff (and indeed the whole of Christiansted) is easily walkable.
On the boardwalk attached to the hotel is "Angry Nates" restaurant and bar. I ate and drank there frequently, breakfast lunch and dinner. As good as any and better than most on the boardwalk. Friendy staff and live music most evenings which can be quite good.
If you are a (tobacco exclusively) smoker, then the island of St. Croix may not be the place for your next vacation unless you are trying to quit!
Overall, this is a reasonably priced hotel in Christansted and I will stay there again when next visiting - hope they have sorted out the internet by then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cayeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 14 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holger Danske Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holger Danske Hotel

Property: Holger Danske Hotel
Address: 1200 King Cross St, Christiansted 00820-5139, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holger Danske Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at old world prices, located in the heart of Christiansted and directly on the water, featuring a freshwater pool and resturant overlooking the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Holger Danske Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holger Danske Hotel St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing