We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holger Danske Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
$249
$224
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$189
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
$399
$284
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,126
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Christian Hotel(Christiansted)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
20
42
34
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
42
34
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasic amenitiesmicrowave and fridgetop floorexcursion boatsclean roomsst croixperfect locationno elevatorhistoric sitesbottled watergood sizeoverlooking the waterthe staff was friendly and helpfulhotel staffgreat place to staythe air conditioningrestaurant bar
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 109 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2011

This is a hotel, not a resort, so be fair people! We loved our stay, Newly remodeled room on the first floor. Great and very quiet a/c, lots of hot water, free Internet and free parking. Our large room had a fridge and a microwave, comfy bed, even a small lanai! The hotel has a nice bar/restaurant, and the next place over is Rum Runners! This is on the Boardwalk, and a few steps to our dive boat each day! For those that want to enjoy the resort village that is nestled right in - five minute walk (or less) and you are there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScubaProSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The Holger Danske was built with a foundation poured 180 degrees in the WRONG DIRECTION! As such, all the balconies, rather than facing the water, face the parking lots and streets behind the hotel (which included its share of barking dogs)! If we did it again, we would find better and more appropriate accomodations.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank fredbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

At best, I can only give the HD a mixed review.
First, the good news. Its location is excellent: on the waterfront. However, unless you are fortunate enough to stay in Room 315 (which we did) of Room 215, your view will be that of a parking lot, not the waterfront. Room 315 has a wonderful view. The large, private balcony overlooks the harbor and the boatslip where fishermen wash and slice their catch of the day. Some of these unlucky sea creatures (incl lobster) may be brought into the aptly-named Angry Nate's cafe and bar which is located on the ground floor of the hotel but independently operated. Angry Nate's is staffed by a motley crew of middle-aged males who energeticallhy bound from table to table, providing a certain type of reply to customer requests. The reader can decide whether they will enjoy this sort of repartee while attem;pting a peaceful, restful vacation -- or not.

Back to Room 315 with its beautiful view...and the problematic bathroom plumbing. We probably could have lived with a shower which never did produce warm water, if it were not for the toilet which refused to flush properly. We sincerely regret leaving housekeeping staff such an unwlecome sight to deal with. At least it did not overflow.

Our final night was on a Saturday, when live music from an adjacent club kept us awake til 3 a.m. Maybe some readers would enjoy being there; we didn't. We weer prepared to deal with that by sleeping in late (see, we really were trying to be flexible), however, we were awakened at 6:30 a.m. Sunday by an extremely loud power generator of some sort, which was located on the roof of the hotel and which was continuing to "generate" when we left, with relief, a few hours later.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The first room they gave us had a bad AC, and the second room's internet didn't work. However, once we went to the third room, everything was great, AC and Internet included! The free internet was nice, and the TV had lots of stations (for the VI, at least). Free local and 800 calls was a plus, since we were able to use our calling card with no connection charge.
The location of the hotel is nice, too, since it's right on the boardwalk, near several restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsaroundUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have been visiting this place since 2004 but it has changed hands and the atmosphere also has changed. There is a definite resentment towards visitors from U.S. and whereas before a very friendly Crucian influence was evident, that has now gone away.
They are militant and argumentative. So much so that we stayed 1 night - a never to be repeated experience - and moved to The Company Hotel which was very pleasant and just a few minutes away. We cut out visit from 2 weeks to 3 days and were glad to leave St. Croix and dont expect to return again. Weather was unseasonably cool so we couldnt snorkel or even go in the water. Much too cold and windy. There is a big Rastafarian influence in the island now, similar to Jamaica.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews