We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, upscale but affordable place to eat.”
Review of Salud Bistro - CLOSED

Salud Bistro
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Your hidden gem on St. Croix. Mediterranean-inspired bistro cuisine, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and revolutionary cocktails. Cozy bistro ambience, airconditioned, with plenty of parking in a convenient mid-island location. Named St. Croix's #1 Dining Destination!
Garden City, Kansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Trendy, upscale but affordable place to eat.”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

From the minute you walk in you feel like you're in for a great dining experience. The specials are written on a chalk board when you enter so it's easy to see. We were there when they had $5 mojitos....very good. For my meal, I had their special which was a duck fat poached wahoo. It was served over mashed fingerling potatoes and was cook very well. My mom and sister had the steak frite (steak of the day) which was a ribeye. They seemed to enjoy their meal.

If you're looking for a nice place on the north shore, this is a great option.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeB_OyLeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    28
    15
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable Eclectic Dining”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Upscale menu with house specialties featuring Mediterranean influence, make this our most memorable dining experience. Our newly minted 18 year old tried rabbit for the first time. It was succulent and melted in your mouth! Nothing heavily spicy for those who like to try new cuisines with full flavors, but featuring some bolder dishes for those who do. Home-made gelato was divine! The steak with blue cheese was perfectly grilled to order, and extremely flavorful. Generous portions encourage sharing, as each of the entrees,salads, side dishes and desserts were perfectly prepared and deserved to be tried!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cudlbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingshill, null, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, outstanding service”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We joined friends who had been eating out all over St. Croix over the past two weeks. The husband had the steak special with blue cheese, said it was the best meal he'd had on their stay. I had a smoked chicken pasta special that was fantastic. The chocolate sushi dessert was perfect. (Coconut for rice, ganache interior, chocolate nut coating) The waiter was one of the best I've had - attentive without being pushy. Took such good care of us. We eat there about once a month, it's moved up on my list!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wedding Night Celebration”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Gem find after 2-3 strikes seeking post-wedding worthy venue for newlywed couple & their 2 witnesses (us). Staff comped champagne when advised of occasion. Mussels, lamb & chicken entrees among the best we had in St. Croix. Excellent wine list, romantic setting, up-scale, great service you'd expect from a place with bistro in the name. Terrific option to beach bar shacks, we'd go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Salad bistro experience in St Croix”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a fabulous dinner there. The staff was very accommodating and the owner was there to explain the wonderful wine selection to accompany our meal. We had a great discussion with him about his home in Italy. Wonderful place would highly recommend if you get a chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salud Bistro also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing