We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
Ranked #1 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The owners were friendly and accommodating (vegan). They prepared delicious special meals for us to meet our dietary restrictions. The hotel was clean and the view from our room breathtaking! We had a rental car which was useful for traveling around and getting back. We had a pleasant and relaxing stay. If we were to come back to Saint Croix, we would most definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Second floor with veranda
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alejandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 144 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very comfortable place with a honor system kitchen bar and the same at the BBQ bar with gas BBQ to be used by all the guest. Room was clean dally special attention was place on the bathrooms. Delicious breakfast were cook dally by Lionel specially an excellent coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victordiazpeniza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister & I had such a terrific weekend enjoying St Croix during AgFair this February. Staying at Arawk Inn was a such a treat and so enhanced our stay. Lionel and Jennifer are not only gracious hosts but very helpful and friendly. Being from St John we enjoyed conversations with them about island "tings". The breakfasts were delicious and many choices were available. Our room was spacious, CLEAN, and we enjoyed our view while sitting on porch. Looking forward to going back next year. Louise & Marcy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseH918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

WOW!!!!!!!! Where can I start. Flew to St. Croix to attend an Acuaponics Workshop @UVI... Showed up at Arawak Bay Inn at Salt Water without a reservation in a small island to see what could I get. Stayed 5 days/4 nights and it will be an unforgettable trip. From the time we showed up, we were kindly received by Tony and Nahim, who immediately made us feel like they knew us all of our lives. We felt we were at our own B & B but to another level. Cute pool, nice grill (thanks Lionel... The Tilapia was AMAZING!!!), meticulously clean bathrooms, hallways, living room and facilities. Also, had the best breakfast for 5 days-in-a-row that I've had in my entire life, thanks to Lionel and his above-and-beyond cooking skills. Slept like a baby in the soooo comfortable and clean-smell beds... Jennifer and Lionel will definitely make a short trip, honeymoon or vacation a memorable one for years to come. if you call in advance, they will come and get you at the airport. Arawak Bay Inn @ Salt River; romantic, quiet, inmaculate cleaness, inspiring and full of love and warmness...

Thanks you very much for an above-and-beyond service better than many 4 & 5 star hotels!!!

Room Tip: Room 16 is in the corner and you can come and go as you please and never get bothered or bother anyo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMR902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I visited St. Croix for a Study Abroad program and we stayed at the Arawak Bay Inn. Our trip would have never been such a great visit without the two owners, Jennifer and Lionel. The Inn is very clean, quiet and has a great view of the water. All the breakfast that they provided for us were homemade and delicious. I didn't want to leave; if I was to go to St. Croix again this would be the place I would stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My second stay at Arawak Bay Inn. It is a genuine B&B, owned and operated by two wonderful people. The staff, too, is friendly and helpful. My room was spacious, almost too big for one person. It was clean and well furnished. The breakfasts are a highlight. Lots of variety and plenty to eat before a long day of diving. Very convenient to Salt River Marina and Anchor Dive Center. Also convenient to all the wonderful restaurants on St. Croix's north shore and the great beach at Cane Bay.

I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

B&Bs are difficult to evaluate. We were at the Arawak Inn at Salt River for less than twenty-four hours. But a number of things stood out. The Inn is clean, spacious, and comfortable. I believe that it only has fourteen guest rooms and is appropriately quiet. Romantic? In a West Indian sort of way … a glass of wine on the porch as the sun goes down is nice. With a little bit of luck, you'll be able to see the lights come on in St Thomas.
The Inn is a bargain. With inflated seasonal prices for lodging, it is a relief to the credit card account. As usual, the fee includes breakfast … the waffles were wonderful, the coffee had a hint of cinnamon … or was it cardamom? Our room was equipped with a king bed with a very comfortable duvet. Cognitive dissonance? A massager-recliner right out of a Brookstone catalog.
There is a small pool and an honor bar. Most importantly, the proprietors, Jennifer and Lionel, are two of the nicest and accommodating people you can meet. B&B's are notoriously difficult to manage because of the necessarily small staff and myriad things to do and I sincerely wish Lionel and Jennifer great success and gratification in this venture.\\
Nearby, there are some interesting dining venues: don't be put off by the curb appeal of Rowdy Joes - excellent food; Off-the-Wall is a beach shack that puts you in salt spray when the north winds are blowing; and Eat at Cane Bay is rumored to be overseen by the former magician of the lamented Bacchus. The "food shots" can be outstanding while the build-your-own burger challenges one's creativity.
I have rated the Inn as Very Good because of its cleanliness, price, retro charm and, especially, the attentiveness and kindness of its owners, Jennifer and Lionel.

Room Tip: Ask for a rocker on the upstairs veranda for a little sunset sitting.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCNMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
83 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
216 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,427 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River

Address: 62 Salt River | Christiansted, Christiansted 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range: $162 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arawak Bay Inn is a moderately priced B&B, Boutique style hotel on the north shore of St. Croix. Our made to order breakfasts, Caribbean style cuisine and attention to detail ensure a welcoming, peaceful, relaxed, facilitating atmosphere throughout your stay. Just 15 minutes from the airport and downtown Christiansted, and less than 5 minutes from all your water sports activities - scuba diving, kayaking, snorkeling and from excellent area restaurants, we ensure that your time on St. Croix is well spent. We keep you connected via free, high speed wifi and are therefore ideally suited to business, family and vacation travel. Contact us beforehand and we'll even help you plan your stay on St. Croix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River Hotel u.s. Virgin Islands
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing