We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Be treated like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
Ranked #1 of 14 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be treated like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very comfortable place with a honor system kitchen bar and the same at the BBQ bar with gas BBQ to be used by all the guest. Room was clean dally special attention was place on the bathrooms. Delicious breakfast were cook dally by Lionel specially an excellent coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victordiazpeniza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
47
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister & I had such a terrific weekend enjoying St Croix during AgFair this February. Staying at Arawk Inn was a such a treat and so enhanced our stay. Lionel and Jennifer are not only gracious hosts but very helpful and friendly. Being from St John we enjoyed conversations with them about island "tings". The breakfasts were delicious and many choices were available. Our room was spacious, CLEAN, and we enjoyed our view while sitting on porch. Looking forward to going back next year. Louise & Marcy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseH918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

WOW!!!!!!!! Where can I start. Flew to St. Croix to attend an Acuaponics Workshop @UVI... Showed up at Arawak Bay Inn at Salt Water without a reservation in a small island to see what could I get. Stayed 5 days/4 nights and it will be an unforgettable trip. From the time we showed up, we were kindly received by Tony and Nahim, who immediately made us feel like they knew us all of our lives. We felt we were at our own B & B but to another level. Cute pool, nice grill (thanks Lionel... The Tilapia was AMAZING!!!), meticulously clean bathrooms, hallways, living room and facilities. Also, had the best breakfast for 5 days-in-a-row that I've had in my entire life, thanks to Lionel and his above-and-beyond cooking skills. Slept like a baby in the soooo comfortable and clean-smell beds... Jennifer and Lionel will definitely make a short trip, honeymoon or vacation a memorable one for years to come. if you call in advance, they will come and get you at the airport. Arawak Bay Inn @ Salt River; romantic, quiet, inmaculate cleaness, inspiring and full of love and warmness...

Thanks you very much for an above-and-beyond service better than many 4 & 5 star hotels!!!

Room Tip: Room 16 is in the corner and you can come and go as you please and never get bothered or bother anyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMR902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I visited St. Croix for a Study Abroad program and we stayed at the Arawak Bay Inn. Our trip would have never been such a great visit without the two owners, Jennifer and Lionel. The Inn is very clean, quiet and has a great view of the water. All the breakfast that they provided for us were homemade and delicious. I didn't want to leave; if I was to go to St. Croix again this would be the place I would stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My second stay at Arawak Bay Inn. It is a genuine B&B, owned and operated by two wonderful people. The staff, too, is friendly and helpful. My room was spacious, almost too big for one person. It was clean and well furnished. The breakfasts are a highlight. Lots of variety and plenty to eat before a long day of diving. Very convenient to Salt River Marina and Anchor Dive Center. Also convenient to all the wonderful restaurants on St. Croix's north shore and the great beach at Cane Bay.

I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

B&Bs are difficult to evaluate. We were at the Arawak Inn at Salt River for less than twenty-four hours. But a number of things stood out. The Inn is clean, spacious, and comfortable. I believe that it only has fourteen guest rooms and is appropriately quiet. Romantic? In a West Indian sort of way … a glass of wine on the porch as the sun goes down is nice. With a little bit of luck, you'll be able to see the lights come on in St Thomas.
The Inn is a bargain. With inflated seasonal prices for lodging, it is a relief to the credit card account. As usual, the fee includes breakfast … the waffles were wonderful, the coffee had a hint of cinnamon … or was it cardamom? Our room was equipped with a king bed with a very comfortable duvet. Cognitive dissonance? A massager-recliner right out of a Brookstone catalog.
There is a small pool and an honor bar. Most importantly, the proprietors, Jennifer and Lionel, are two of the nicest and accommodating people you can meet. B&B's are notoriously difficult to manage because of the necessarily small staff and myriad things to do and I sincerely wish Lionel and Jennifer great success and gratification in this venture.\\
Nearby, there are some interesting dining venues: don't be put off by the curb appeal of Rowdy Joes - excellent food; Off-the-Wall is a beach shack that puts you in salt spray when the north winds are blowing; and Eat at Cane Bay is rumored to be overseen by the former magician of the lamented Bacchus. The "food shots" can be outstanding while the build-your-own burger challenges one's creativity.
I have rated the Inn as Very Good because of its cleanliness, price, retro charm and, especially, the attentiveness and kindness of its owners, Jennifer and Lionel.

Room Tip: Ask for a rocker on the upstairs veranda for a little sunset sitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCNMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night but would have loved to have stayed longer. We arrived late on a Friday night and were greeted by a young lady who was covering for the owners as they were out of town and would be arriving later that night. She gave us our room keys and led us to our rooms on the 2nd level of the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and airy but also have AC/heat if needed. The following morning we awoke and stepped outside our rooms directly onto the balcony to admire the fantastic view. The balcony is shared with the other rooms on the second level but each room has a set of chairs and a table to sit and relax and enjoy the view. Peaceful is the key word I would use to describe Arawak. It is located on the north shore of St. Croix and is surrounded by beautiful scenery. The owners called us around 8:30AM and apologized for not being able to meet us the previous night and for putting us in a room with two double beds (we didn't mind at all). She asked us what we would like for breakfast and then told us it would be ready in around 15 minutes. The breakfast prepared for us was great. Fresh fruit, pancakes, and veggie sausage (we're vegetarians). After breakfast we strolled around the property and admired the grounds. They have a small pool with a patio/bar area that contains an honor bar with terrific prices. I love how they don't try to gouge you with their rental rates or drink prices. That is very welcome on an island that can be very expensive. If you are looking to truly getaway from noise and crowds this is your place. Although you can see other residences and a road runs directly in front of the inn it really feels like you are alone here. We will definitely return on any future visits to the island. It's about a 15-20 minute drive from Christiansted and 30-40 minutes from Frederiksted. It's only a 5-10 minute drive to several good restaurants and attraction along the north shore however. Rental car definitely suggested while staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
4.7 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
4.3 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River

Property: Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
Address: 62 Salt River | Christiansted, Christiansted 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arawak Bay Inn offers a charming and relaxing experience on St. Croix's north shore. Each of its 14 rooms offer sweeping views of the Salt River Bay, and Caribbean Sea. This affordable B&B is 15 minutes from downtown Christiansted, and 5 minutes from the water sports activities of the St. Croix marina and Cane Bay. The Caribbean style continental breakfast ensures an island experience as you stay connected via wireless high speed Internet and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River Hotel u.s. Virgin Islands
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing