We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Quite” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protestant Cay

Protestant Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Quite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our visit was during off season so we were able to enjoy the quite atmosphere. The hotel has undergone some repair and were working on a larger entertainment room. The ferry staff and Mary at the dock were absolutely wonderful. Mary owner of the little shop on the dock was so helpful in finding great deals on a car rental and trips. Stop in and see her it is well worth the savings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carole-Colby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    15
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lazy Day on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to St Croix. We had done Buck Island the first time, so we wanted go to the beach and discover Christianstead. We took the ferry ride over and discovered the beach was not crowded. The restaurant food was good and convenient. Very Nice view of the city, fort and bay. The sailboats were beautiful. Nice beach,especially if you want to kill two birds with one stone. We finished the day with shopping and taking in the sights.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherwood D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beatiful Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel on the Cay which is right on the beach. We love it. Able to snorkel anytime you want. Clear water to wade in and just relax. Lots of fish, people around us saw lobster. We saw conch shells and starfish.. Even went around to back of island for more snorkeling!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I think this beach might have been one of my least favorite out of the several that I visited on St. Croix. There were a lot of little pebbles and debris on the beach. However, there was decent snorkeling. We saw a few different kinds of fish and crabs. The parts where you could actually swim were limited.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The ferry from the dock is 5$ roundtrip. You can spend as much time you want there-the only beach right in town. Sunbeds and umbrellas are optional for an additional charge. They have a restaurant belonging to the hotel, but we only had a couple of drinks, so no idea how the food was.
The snorkeling of the right side of the beach was great-eaglerays,turtles,mantis shrimp, barracudas, etc! Had a great time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vickystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Protestant Cay also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Protestant Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing