We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and restful week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Greenleaf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Greenleaf
Ranked #8 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
edward migdal
1 review
“Pleasant and restful week”
Reviewed March 24, 2007

We were on holiday for a week this past February on St. Croix and had made accommodations at the Villa Greenleaf which is a glorious private, serene resort. The place has a wonderul 3 acre setting with exceedingly comfortable and private suites and a breathtaking view.
Jeff Teel, the owner, and his colleagues were impeccable with their genuine hospitality. They made every effort and more to be certain our week went smoothly in every aspect. The gourmet breakfasts and early evening cocktail hours were delicious and delightful.
We enjoyed the week immensely and have already booked for next year. Kudos to the Villa Greenleaf!

Emma and Eddie Migdal
Wilbraham, Ma.

  • Liked — Privacy and solitude
  • Disliked — Travel to the beaches
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank winstonEdwardMigdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    1
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

What can we say? We loved the Villa Greenleaf. When we booked our stay, we scoured Trip Advisor, and we had the unique experience of finding a place that everyone gave 5 stars to. (Okay -- only one person gave it less than 5 -- but it was a VERY suspect review).

The bar had been set high, and the Villa Greenleaf rose to the occasion. What really makes this place special is Erica, the manager, hostess, maker of awesome breakfasts and hors d'oeuvres, day-trip planner, romance coordinator, and anything else you an think of. We'd previously spent a week on St. John staying at a villa -- so we did all of our own planning on that leg of the trip. Once we got to Villa Greenleaf, we left it all in Erica's able hands. We had three of the most fabulous dinners ever! Our favorite was Bacchus, but we also loved Salud and Kendrick's.

She sent us out to the secluded Jack & Isaac's -- a beach. The water was a bit rough that day, out of Erica's control, sadly, but it was a beautiful place. I recommend it, but not for the hiking squeamish.

She coordinated, with the input of my husband, a romantic arrival day -- complete with his and hers massages, romantic dinner at Bacchus, rose petals all over our room, candlelight, wine, and chocolates! Villa Greenleaf is a great honeymoon spot.

What else can I say? I loved little Monet -- the french bulldog who guards her territory. The pool was wonderful -- and have I mentioned the breakfasts? Yum! She also makes a great pina coloda.

Thanks, again, Erica! We hope to visit soon.
Heidi and Sujal

  • Liked — Erica's great service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hleahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Mass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

Last month, my wife and I visited St. Croix and stayed a week at the Villa Greenleaf. Our experience was the best. We were looking for a quiet romanic getaway and we weren't disappointed.

As much as we loved the accomodations we were more impressed with the warm, friendly atmosphere created by Jeff (owner) and Erica (manager). They made us feel like old friends and directed us to the best swim beaches and wonderful snorkel spots ( many off the beaten path) for daytime fun and then made reservations at really good restaurants for the evenings.

Every morning Erica made a gourmet breakfast which we could hardly finish...........most days we didn't need to eat lunch! We also knew that we would be treated to great appetizers and cocktails from 5:30 to 6:30 everyday.

The villa is situated atop a hill that has panoramic ocean veiws and wonderful breezes. Our room was tastefully decorated and made us feel at home. Since the villa has only a few rooms, we never felt crowded.

Erica met us at the airport and transported us to the villa. The room rate included a rental car and it was really nice to find the car and rental agent waiting for us as we arrived at the villa. In about a minute and half we were signed up and ready to go. A lot easier than most rental ordeals.

After a day at the beach, it was great to come back to the villa and dip in the pool, sit in the hot tub and relax on the lounge chairs. One night we bought some cheese, crackers and fruit and spent a relaxing evening watching the moon and stars.

Everyday we returned to the villa, we were greeted by our new canine friends Metro and Monet. They made us feel better about missing our own dogs.......we'll be back next year.

  • Liked — friendlyness
  • Disliked — too short of stay
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushi-Jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2007

We vacationed at Villa Greenleaf in February of 2007. What a wonderful place to stay. Very nice accommodations, private, beautiful view. Great staff, they could not do enough for us. Every morning we woke to the best breakfast on the island! Every evening we had a wonderful treat before going out to dinner!! A must stay!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Captains_Retreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham Manor, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

The first nice thing about the Villa Greenleaf is being picked up at the airport and transported to the Villa without worrying how to get there. You are driven past the pillars and suddenly everything is beautiful. First, the rolling green lawns and then, cresting the hill and exiting the car, you gaze along the garden path, the beautiful pool and then you see forever over the sea. Next, Erica, who makes everything work perfectly at the Villa, takes you through the main rooms: the very comfortable living room, the screened-in breakfast room and finally the giant kapok tree, 300 years old and magnificent. The dogs, Metro and Monet, welcome you.

Villa Greenleaf has just five truly comfortable and well appointed rooms, four of which have private patios with views over the sea. They feature king beds, attractive furnishings, well- appointed bathrooms with big showers, a refrigerator and a safe. Everything you might want is there. Our room had a private patio with a table and chairs. At the pool there is even a covered area for those who like to read and snooze under cover. The rest of the pool deck has lounge chairs with some umbrellas for shade. At 5:30 to 6:30 every evening, complimentary drinks and appetizers are served on the patio outside the main house. This is a lovely spot to watch the sunset and enjoy good company and lovely nibbles. In the morning you are served an excellent breakfast with lots of delicious coffee and remarkable food (Erica says she can go three weeks without repeating a breakfast). Erica is also wonderful at recommending places to enjoy your other meals, making reservations at restaurants and booking sightseeing trips. St Croix is quite interesting and the trips are worthwhile. Jeff, the owner of Villa Greenleaf, has set a high standard for this luxurious bed and breakfast. Donna, a pleasant addition to the staff, comes down from Maine for a few months to help out, offering nice things like pedicures and reflexology. Actually, we felt as if we were visiting old friends and were treated that way, with care and indulgence. Plus you get a car with your reservation, an essential on St Croix. The car is delivered to you at the Villa and picked up there as well.

Do go to Villa Greenleaf. You will have a peaceful, wonderful stay which you will never forget.
Norma and Bob Simon

  • Liked — everything. It is beautiful, well appinted and everyone is nice
  • Disliked — We wish they served other meals as well as breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normasimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2007

My wife and I recently returned from a 5 night stay at the Villa Greenleaf and our only true regret was that we didn’t stay longer. Not only were the accommodations and views spectacular, the extraordinary level of service from Erica, Donna and Joe were truly what makes this Bed and Breakfast so exceptional. Each day begins with a terrific breakfast and your day only gets better from there. Whether you prefer relaxing at the beach or heading out on a diving excursion (we did both), you can feel confident that these guys will recommend the best things to do and places to see. Don’t miss out on the cocktail hour as this is a great opportunity to chat with other guests about their daily activities or exchange dinner recommendations. Plus, Erica always serves some fantastic appetizers. This was our first trip to St. Croix and I couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else. We can’t wait to return!

  • Liked — The staff, the rooms, the pool, and the view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurkeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Our stay at Villa Greenleaf was much above and beyond all our expectations. We could not have enjoyed ourselves more. We felt we were in our home and being pampered to a tee. My wife has a dietary issue and Erica and Jeff made sure her needs were addressed. From the moment we landed to the moment we left, we knew we were in good hands. Great dinner reservations, directions and activities were all handled exceptionally well. Accommodations were outstanding! We will be headed back next year.

Ed and Nancy Magrogan
March 20, 2007

  • Liked — Accommodations, location, activities on the island
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
5.0 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.1 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
60 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,338 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,099 reviews
5.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Greenleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Greenleaf

Property: Villa Greenleaf
Address: 11 Montpellier, Christiansted 00821, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of St. Croix, minutes to downtown Christiansted. Our beautifully manicured estate offers luxurious West Indies furnishings in each suite like four-posted mahagony king size beds with seating area. French doors allow for walkout to a private terrace with teak lounge and plantation chairs overlooking the Caribbean sea. Sun by our pool and Jacuzzi after enjoying a full gourmet breakfast. At sunset we offer tropical drinks and hors d ouevres. Car rentals are included in the rate. This is truly affordable luxury at its best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Greenleaf Hotel Christiansted
Villa Greenleaf St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing