We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest, Relaxation and Rum”
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Ranked #2 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia
16
Reviewed May 8, 2006

I must begin by expressing my regret in the delay in posting this review. As a medical student and an army reservist my time after our vacation has been “busy” to say the least. Nevertheless, I have found the time required to truly articulate the marvelous experience my girlfriend Blair and I had while vacationing on St. Croix. After spending any amount of time reading reviews, one quickly realizes that the destination seems to have minimal bearing on the quality of the experience. In fact for any given travel destination there are vacationers who walk away happy and those who walk away unhappy. So what determines one’s level of satisfaction? Although there’s a lot that’s factored into a successful vacation, I submit to you now that there is none more important than the accommodations.

With that I will review our experience at Villa Margarita and its impact on our vacation. Our arrival rolling down the short but picturesque incline was heralded by the soft crunching of gravel that tipped of Blade (the gentle but ever vigilant head of security) and Adele. The lack of development, noise, commercialism, and population made our arrival at the “hotel” seem more like a first visit to a friend’s new house. The impromptu introductions and tour of the house and property seemed relaxed and unrehearsed. In fact, John (Adele’s husband and co-owner of Villa Margarita) temporarily suspended some cosmetic yard work to have a Heineken and shoot the breeze. This reinforced the theme of familiarity as it reminded me more of my house on a Sunday then a place of business. That being said the folksy feel did not preclude a commitment to professionalism.

Within seconds of entering The East Suite, I felt I was walking into brand new accommodations. The degree of cleanliness was especially impressive when considering the amenities included kitchen appliances such as stove, microwave, refrigerator, and blender. If I had been told that we were the first guests to stay in the suite it would not have surprised me, it was that new looking. We were advised that due to our late arrival that “Happy Hour” would be extended accordingly. After settling in, our arrival at the “tiki-style” pool-side bar marked the beginning of many experimental Crucian Rum based drinks that were typically chosen by flipping through one of Adele’s handy island-drink guides. Nevertheless, anonymity can be maintained if one were so inclined (as evidenced by the neighboring suite’s guests who slipped quietly into their room after a simple “goodnight” was issued from the balcony overlooking the pool deck).

The flexibility and friendliness of our hosts was no more obvious than the first night when they invited us to join them for dinner on the other side of the island. They even drove allowing us to “ENJOY” the night even more as we danced and drank the night away listening to some local six-string talent on an open beach bar that was close enough to the water to hear the small tide roll in and out.

Although Blair and I had a long week of activities planned including diving, hiking, and some strenuous on-beaching napping, each day we benefited from John and Adele’s recommendations on everything from safe places to park, cheap dive shops, beach food, and the best place on the island to watch a pig drink a beer.

Our final night on the island probably sums our experience the best. Due to a late (barely late) arrival at the airport, we were not allowed to board our plane. This resulted in a boat-load of contingency headaches not the least of which was that we were stuck on the island with no place to stay! We called Villa Margarita to see if they had any availability for one night. I should preface the following lines with a caution that this is probably not Villa Margarita policy and one should not go there demanding this degree of generosity and attention and this should more likely be viewed as a commentary on the types of people one would be doing business with. Adele picked up the phone, apologized for our misfortune, assured us we had a place to stay, and then (after learning that we had already returned our rental car) sent John out to pick us up reassuring us that John would have us at the airport (on-time) the following day! Shortly there after John arrived at the airport packing a “first-aid” kit consisting of chilled domestics ready to restart our vacation and lessen the blow of missing our flight. That evening John and Adele insisted on taking us with them as they dined at a local favorite Italian pizza joint. Needless to say, there were many things that added to or detracted from our fun, but Blair and I can honestly say that our vacation was a great success thanks to our choosing to stay with Villa Margarita. And finally, it is no exaggeration when I say that our vacation left us with not only many memories but two new friends (Oh, sorry Blade…three new friends.) Robb and Blair

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 135 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Clermont, Florida
1
Reviewed May 8, 2006

This was our second visit to Villa Margarita. This experience was as wonderful as the first. Consistent excellent service!

Thank you again,
Dante

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
SACRAMENTO, CA
11
Reviewed April 24, 2006

Our stay at the Villa Margarita was wonderful! The rooms overlook the ocean in a a quite, peaceful setting - except for the sound of the waves breaking - and are immaculate, attractive, and spacious. Guesthouse owner Adele is a true gem and has created the perfect vacation envirnoment - she even serves free drinks daily during happy hour! I am so thankful we happened onto Villa Margarita and recommend it highly.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2006

This was our second visit to Villa Margarita. The first time we were there, we got married! The owners, John and Adele, are absolutely fabulous. They are warm, friendly, and full of great advice on places to eat and explore on the island. But, at the same time, they're very respectful of your privacy, giving you lots of time to unwind and relax. The Villa is right on the beach, with snorkeling just a short walk away. I can't say enough about the view; it's absolutely breathtaking. While at Villa Margarita you can almost imagine you are in your own home on a Caribbean Island -- Just imagine that!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2006

The owners of Villa Margarita go out of their way to make every detail of your stay with them better than being at home! The accomodations are spotlessly clean with more amenities than most high-end hotels. The view of the ocean is breath-taking, and the environment serene. I would recommend this place without any hestitation - it's truly a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank washingtonians131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lake Mills, WI
1
Reviewed March 6, 2006

The Villa Margarita was exactly what we were looking for and more. It offers privacy, comfort, peace and quiet (except the sound of breaking waves on the shoreline reef) and breathtaking views. Hosts John and Adele and their dog Blade, made you feel part of the family from day one. If you want to be away from the crowds and the hussle and bussle, this is where you want to stay, and because of its location, it's a convenient drive to either end of the island. Our stay at the Villa Margarita made our trip to St. Croix complete, and when we come back to the island, this is where we will stay again!

Stayed: February 2006
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mary Esther, FL
11
Reviewed February 11, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Villa Margarita Jan 25-Feb 1, 2006. Our room had an unbelievable view of the Caribbean. It was very clean and nicely furnished and within walking distance to a nice restaurant and dive shop. They also provide free wireless internet service and fun happy hours!

When we arrived at the airport, Adele picked us up and took us by the grocery store. It was nice to have a few snacks, drinks and something for breakfast in the room. We didn’t have a rental car the first few days but spent those days relaxing by the pool and snorkelling at the beach. Colombus Cove restaurant is within walking distance and serves good burgers. There is also a dive shop and a place to rent kayaks next to the restaurant. On our third day, we rented a car from Judi of Croix car rentals. They delivered our car to Villa Margarita and were very helpful. We went to different parts of the island for shopping, snorkeling, etc. but always made it back to Villa Margarita by 5pm for happy hour. It was fun to visit with other guests and chat with Adele and John. Try a Cruzan Mai Tai! Adele and John have made Villa Margarita a very special place to stay. They are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
5.6 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Cottages By The Sea
Cottages By The Sea
#1 of 3 in Frederiksted
332 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Address: 22 Salt River Road, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range: $145 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Margarita is your own private piece of paradise! Our award-winning luxury beachfront villa located in the exclusive and pristine Estate Salt River nature zone on St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands, a unspoiled and lush tropical environment emanating tranquility and overwhelming your senses. Surrounded by large palm trees gently swaying in the soothing trade winds, you'll quickly enter the peaceful, relaxed Caribbean world you've always dreamed about. Take a few steps to your own private beach and immerse yourself in warm, crystal-clear turquoise and emerald water. Snorkeling and kayaking are ideal at the coral beach in front of our villa, and swimming at the white sandy beaches on either side. Splash around in our fresh-water swimming pool, sunbathe on the spacious deck, or curl up with a good book in a hammock under a palm. Our villa is literally minutes from the island's best dive sites, including the famous "The Wall", and the nearby marina offers a wealth of activities from boat tours, fishing charters, diving, sailing, and mangrove kayaking. Secluded for intimacy and privacy, yet minutes away from local restaurants, entertainment, and the charming old Danish town of Christiansted, Villa Margarita is the perfect recipe for your perfect holiday! Whether you're looking for a single suite or to rent a whole villa, choose the star of the St Croix vacation rentals in US Virgin Islands! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing