We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fifth time as good as the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Ranked #2 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Springfield, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fifth time as good as the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just returned from another week at the Villa Margarita and it never grows old...we love going there and when we leave, start making plans for the following year. We're not people who like going back to the same place but we make an exemption when it comes to the Villa Margarita. We stay in the one bedroom suite and love sitting on the balcony to read, eat, drink and just enjoy the scenery. This year we saw whales and shooting stars while sitting there. We always eat at Cheeseburgers in Paradise, Rowdy Joes and Angry Nate's. This year we tried the chicken barbeque place Adele recommended on Rte. 75 and it was as good and reasonably priced as she said. We also went into Fredricksted (go only when a cruise ship is in so things are open) and ate at Polly's at the Pier. If you like ice cream, make sure you go to Armstrong's for homemade ice cream. This year Adele and John (animal lovers) had a brochure about a program that has visitors to the island bringing back a homeless dog to the states where they're met at their final destination by someone from a no-kill shelter or foster home and given a second chance for happiness. We did it and it was such a heart-warming experience.

If you're looking for a nice clean, quite place to stay, check out the VM. You'll feel like it's your own private place. St. Croix is billed as America's Paradise but the real paradise is the VM.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mms01089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
87
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Adele, who was our primary contact at the Villa Margarita was amazing. Her tips, encouragements and other helpful suggestions on where to go, swim, ride horses, eat & watch the St Patty's Day parade among others made this one of the best places we have stayed in a long time. Our room had a cross breeze, the sounds of the ocean, a little patio with a great view, a kitchen and a very comfortable bed. In addition, she hosted a cocktail hour by the pool three times in a week. What isn't too like? It was just what the doctor ordered!!! Go

Room Tip: We liked the first floor studio. It is smaller than the others but the only one with a cross breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paupman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

When my wife and I decided to go to St Croix we wanted to stay at a B&B that had peace and quiet with all of the amenities of home. Well, thanks to Adele these well-appointed accommodations lived up to the five star ratings and more. I tend to be very fussy about things like upkeep and maintenance of facilities and cleanliness. When we walked into our room it was one of the first things that I noticed, everything was spotless, neat and in excellent order. As advertised on the website “Each one of our suites are self-contained with kitchenette equipped with microwave, refrigerator, 2 burner hotplate, toaster oven, electric skillet, blender, coffee maker, dishes and pots and pans to satisfy your basic cooking needs.” This made it very convenient to eat in or out and if you wanted to bring home leftovers from dinner it was no problem. In the cupboard there were some standard spices for cooking, coffee, filters, lots of silverware, an electric wine opener and on and on. Sitting on the kitchen table was a bottle of Cruzan Mango Rum for our consumption and on the coffee table was a folder with a list of everything you need to know about activities, restaurants, places to go emergency info, etc. The pictures on the website are exactly how the place is, which is not always the case with some properties. If you want solitude and don’t want an innkeeper in your face, this is your place. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Any room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertmerc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was a fantastic, amazing spot - you won't be disappointed. We had a room facing the water, and went to sleep every night hearing the sound of the ocean and feeling the cool breeze of the water. Perfection. The room was more than spacious, we had our bedroom (facing the water), a sitting room, and a separate kitchen and bathroom. Adele was fantastic, and hosted a happy hour one of the evenings. It's a bit out of the way, so you definitely need a car, but you won't be disappointed. Next time we are back in St. Croix, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: I think they are all facing the ocean, but if not, try to get a room with an ocean view. Spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Margarita on our very first trip to St Croix in August of 2013. I chose it because of all the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. We could not have been happier!! It is the only place we will stay on any of our future trips (of which we hope there will be many!!) back to St. Croix. John & Adele are perfect hosts....so helpful with information & recommendations. PERFECT location. We went to bed and work up with the view of the ocean from our bed---it was difficult leaving our room each morning. On our first day we saw sting rays swimming off the beach from our deck. Close to some of the best restaurants on the island as well. Be sure to visit Rowdy Joe's which is just up the road! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at Villa Margarita a few times over the last several years and it seems like it gets better and better every time I go back. If you are looking for amazing accommodations, peace and quiet, gorgeous scenery and most of all, gracious hosts, then VM is the place for you! Adele and John treat all their guests like long-time friends. They will share their island knowledge with you so you can get the most from your experience. They are what makes VM a top notch property.

All suites have gorgeous views, with a sea breeze that is so refreshing, you won't need the AC. You can go shopping to pick up the essentials for quick meals and snacks. Adele and John host a happy hour or 2 during the week and there are a few restaurants that are close by to venture out to as well.

VM truly is a beautiful, tranquil, well-maintained property and I am looking forward to my next visit. Thanks to Adele and John for making my vacation all that I needed it to be!!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemi3886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited because of a family funeral but nothing was too much bother. Stayed up late for us to arrive and accommodation was the 1st floor studio. It had everything you could need and more. Nothing was too much trouble with Adele and John who were perfect hosts. Wish it could have been better circumstances to enjoy even more but we were not holidaying but would recommend perfect place for anyone to stay at. Couples / Honeymooners / family's could enjoy. Just perfect !

Room Tip: All rooms were good to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank home4valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
4.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
4.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Property: Villa Margarita
Address: 22 Salt River Road, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Margarita is your own private piece of paradise! Our award-winning luxury beachfront villa located in the exclusive and pristine Estate Salt River nature zone on St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands, a unspoiled and lush tropical environment emanating tranquility and overwhelming your senses. Surrounded by large palm trees gently swaying in the soothing trade winds, you'll quickly enter the peaceful, relaxed Caribbean world you've always dreamed about. Take a few steps to your own private beach and immerse yourself in warm, crystal-clear turquoise and emerald water. Snorkeling and kayaking are ideal at the coral beach in front of our villa, and swimming at the white sandy beaches on either side. Splash around in our fresh-water swimming pool, sunbathe on the spacious deck, or curl up with a good book in a hammock under a palm. Our villa is literally minutes from the island's best dive sites, including the famous "The Wall", and the nearby marina offers a wealth of activities from boat tours, fishing charters, diving, sailing, and mangrove kayaking. Secluded for intimacy and privacy, yet minutes away from local restaurants, entertainment, and the charming old Danish town of Christiansted, Villa Margarita is the perfect recipe for your perfect holiday! Whether you're looking for a single suite or to rent a whole villa, choose the star of the St Croix vacation rentals in US Virgin Islands! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing