We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Phenomenal place - we'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Save
You added Villa Margarita to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 14 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Phenomenal place - we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was a fantastic, amazing spot - you won't be disappointed. We had a room facing the water, and went to sleep every night hearing the sound of the ocean and feeling the cool breeze of the water. Perfection. The room was more than spacious, we had our bedroom (facing the water), a sitting room, and a separate kitchen and bathroom. Adele was fantastic, and hosted a happy hour one of the evenings. It's a bit out of the way, so you definitely need a car, but you won't be disappointed. Next time we are back in St. Croix, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: I think they are all facing the ocean, but if not, try to get a room with an ocean view. Spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
84
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Margarita on our very first trip to St Croix in August of 2013. I chose it because of all the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. We could not have been happier!! It is the only place we will stay on any of our future trips (of which we hope there will be many!!) back to St. Croix. John & Adele are perfect hosts....so helpful with information & recommendations. PERFECT location. We went to bed and work up with the view of the ocean from our bed---it was difficult leaving our room each morning. On our first day we saw sting rays swimming off the beach from our deck. Close to some of the best restaurants on the island as well. Be sure to visit Rowdy Joe's which is just up the road! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at Villa Margarita a few times over the last several years and it seems like it gets better and better every time I go back. If you are looking for amazing accommodations, peace and quiet, gorgeous scenery and most of all, gracious hosts, then VM is the place for you! Adele and John treat all their guests like long-time friends. They will share their island knowledge with you so you can get the most from your experience. They are what makes VM a top notch property.

All suites have gorgeous views, with a sea breeze that is so refreshing, you won't need the AC. You can go shopping to pick up the essentials for quick meals and snacks. Adele and John host a happy hour or 2 during the week and there are a few restaurants that are close by to venture out to as well.

VM truly is a beautiful, tranquil, well-maintained property and I am looking forward to my next visit. Thanks to Adele and John for making my vacation all that I needed it to be!!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemi3886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited because of a family funeral but nothing was too much bother. Stayed up late for us to arrive and accommodation was the 1st floor studio. It had everything you could need and more. Nothing was too much trouble with Adele and John who were perfect hosts. Wish it could have been better circumstances to enjoy even more but we were not holidaying but would recommend perfect place for anyone to stay at. Couples / Honeymooners / family's could enjoy. Just perfect !

Room Tip: All rooms were good to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank home4valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What can I say that hasn't been said? How many places can you wake up and see the ocean without getting out of bed? Adele and John are excellent hosts and make us feel like part of the family from the moment we arrived. Villa Margarita location on the North Shore is peaceful and relaxing but close enough to town to get there in minutes. The Villa's happy hour at the Tiki bar by the pool is a nice addition. Adele has lots of useful information to help any stay on STX. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Pick any. The studio is on the 1st floor convenient to the pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I just can't stop raving about our week at the Villa Margarita! It was everything we hoped for and more! Adele and John have created an oasis of relaxation on the north shore of paradise!

Here's what you'll find at the Villa Margarita:

- Lovely villa - scrupulously clean, nicely decorated and meticulously maintained
- Peaceful, tranquil setting at the end of a gated, private gravel road
- Breathtaking view
- Small, private beach for watching the waves and soaking up the sun
- Beach chairs, towels, coolers... everything you need for a day out at the local beaches
- Balcony (or deck) where you can sip your Cruzan rum drinks
- Tiki bar overlooking the pool
- Restful hammock with a view of the water
- Swimming pool with deck chairs
- Kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, toaster and electric frying pan (as well as dishes, glassware, flatware, etc.)
- Comfy bed with tropical-theme linens
- The roar of the surf and the whispers of palm trees to lull you to sleep at night

The Villa Margarita is situated on the north shore, just a quarter of a mile from Salt River Bay (the original landing spot for Christopher Columbus). The closest restaurant, Pirate's Tavern, is at the Salt River Marina and is only about five minutes away. Other places to eat can be reached via a short, scenic drive.

We stayed in the one-bedroom East suite, which has an open floor plan bedroom, living room, dining area, kitchenette and bathroom. There are ocean views from every room, including the bathroom! We could literally see fish swimming in the shallows! We loved eating breakfast in our little hideaway overlooking the pool and the surf breaking on the reef before heading out for our daily activities.

Be sure you don't miss the happy hour - Adele has a wealth of information about the local area, including restaurants (Rowdy Joe's, eat @ Cane Bay and Salud), interesting activities (Jump-Up and the Cruzan rum factory tour) and great beaches. There's so much to see and do, we'll have to go back!

Thanks so much, Adele and John!
Catherine and Oscar

Room Tip: We liked the second floor because of the view of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just returned from our 4th trip to the Villa Margarita and loved it as much as the other 3 times. The location is fantastic and Adele & John are the perfect hosts. We've gotten to the point of spending more time in our 1 bedroom suite, sitting on the balcony overlooking the water, reading and totally relaxing. At night we go to sleep with the sound of the ocean. What more could someone ask for? Every year when we leave, we're counting the weeks till we go back.

Room Tip: Any room is great, it just depends what you need or want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mms01089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
6.2 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
4.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Property: Villa Margarita
Address: 22 Salt River Road, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Margarita is your own private piece of paradise! Our award-winning luxury beachfront villa located in the exclusive and pristine Estate Salt River nature zone on St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands, a unspoiled and lush tropical environment emanating tranquility and overwhelming your senses. Surrounded by large palm trees gently swaying in the soothing trade winds, you'll quickly enter the peaceful, relaxed Caribbean world you've always dreamed about. Take a few steps to your own private beach and immerse yourself in warm, crystal-clear turquoise and emerald water. Snorkeling and kayaking are ideal at the coral beach in front of our villa, and swimming at the white sandy beaches on either side. Splash around in our fresh-water swimming pool, sunbathe on the spacious deck, or curl up with a good book in a hammock under a palm. Our villa is literally minutes from the island's best dive sites, including the famous "The Wall", and the nearby marina offers a wealth of activities from boat tours, fishing charters, diving, sailing, and mangrove kayaking. Secluded for intimacy and privacy, yet minutes away from local restaurants, entertainment, and the charming old Danish town of Christiansted, Villa Margarita is the perfect recipe for your perfect holiday! Whether you're looking for a single suite or to rent a whole villa, choose the star of the St Croix vacation rentals in US Virgin Islands! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing