We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian on the island by far”
Review of Cultured Pelican

Cultured Pelican
Ranked #50 of 117 Restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An Al Fresco dining room with a magnificent Caribbean view. The menu is Home style Italian featuring veal, pastas, local seafood and local farm salads. Open Tues - Sun eves for dinner from 6pm.Complete dinner special for $25. Includes appetizer, Entrtee and dessert. Avail 6 - 7pm every dat except Thurs.
Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

Great Italian food and specials. They have a 3 course for $25. Very good Italian food and good wine list. The chef has been at it for 25 years. Great views of buck island from the dining area.

Thank bjorn5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 92 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by the owner of the home which my family rented over the holidays. It is located in a condo complex on a hillside and has a view of the water. The owner is the chef and came to our table twice: first to explain some of the wine choices and later to check on what we thought of our meals. The food was well prepared and flavorful. The wine selection was good and the service was attentive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bbsnwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2016

Thank you so much for your review. It makes me feel good to know you enjoyed your evening with us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2016

We were in St Croix about 5 years ago and we went to the Cultured Pelican every week we were here. We enjoyed the weekly Thursday night 2 for 1 special. At that time, the food was very good, and a very good value. So, we looked forward to going to the Cultured Pelican (CP) again this year. BTW, the view here is beautiful.

We went to the CP once last week and again this week in 2016. Both times we were quite disappointed. The food wasn't bad, but more like average at best. The Mahi was dry and tasteless, and the risotto was also dry and over spiced with sage. The paparadelle and pork dishes also lacked an real and/or unique flavor. All in all, the experience both times was disappointing, and my recommendation would be to spend your St Croix restaurant else where, perhaps where the quality of food is more of a priority over the view.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank djc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2016

I'm sorry your experience at the Cultured Pelican was not favorable. Thursday night is not a good night to judge the Pelican. I want to keep the 2 for 1 going . During tough economic times on St. Croix I think people appreciate a good value night. That being said I would suggest you come in on any other night except Thurs to experience the true Cultured Pelican. I am also the Chef at the Cultured Pelican and can tell you first hand that there is no Sage in the risotto. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

Tucked into Coakley Bay Condominium on the East End of St. Croix is an open-aired restaurant operated by a master chef and professional staff. The cuisine has a slight Italian bent, including such items as fresh made manicotti, pappardelle and mac & cheese, but each item is customized by the chef with recipes reflective of a culinary artist.
Daily meat specials include such mouthwatering dishes as St. Louis ribs, braised short ribs, and stuffed tenderloin. Fish dishes are fresh daily, cooked to perfection, and garnished with sauces which enhance rather than overpower.
There is a variety of appetizers and fresh greens salads, each more appealing than the next.
The wine list is unmatched on the island, reasonably priced, and served in ample pours.
Shame on any diner who doesn't save room for dessert at the Cultured Pelican. Items such as zuccatto, profiteroles, tiramisu, and even the ice cream, are all made on site and have been acknowledged by "Best on Island" awards.
Quality ingredients, cooking excellence, attentive staff, discerning wine, award-winning desserts and a comfortable tropical environment with an overlooking view of Buck Island provide a dinner experience that mustn't be missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CNKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you for your acknowledgement of the time and effort that me and my staff put into the Cultured Pelican. We are proud to be in our 25th season on St. Croix. It is always exciting to hear my customers enjoyed an evening at the Cultured Pelican. Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016

You really can't beat the food, drinks, and service at the Cultured Pelican. We ate their twice on our recent vacation and both times were impeccable. You are truly treated like family when you visit. Dennis and his team knock it out of the park every time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cultured Pelican also viewed

 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Cultured Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing