We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Two story great room with veranda and beach beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two story great room with veranda and beach beyond
Permanent palapas and lounges await beyond the veranda Newly up-dated salt water swimming pool with small waterfalls and beautiful colored lighting at night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Two story great room with veranda and beach beyond
Permanent palapas and lounges await beyond the veranda
Newly up-dated salt water swimming pool with small waterfalls and beautiful colored lighting at night
Our new cushions blend beautifully with the lush green beyond.
Entry with original art on walls and bar cart to left
This is our custom mahogany bar built from a tree felled during Hurricane Hugo.
All new kitchen with granite counters hardwood cabinets and with Great Room beyond
Snack Shack Located Between Pool and Water
The nautical themed Upper Master opens to patio and sound of ocean
Sleeper sofa on gallery level next to deck with BBQ
View from deck off upper master bedroom
Ensuite bath off upper master with all new solid wood cabinets and granite counter
Our African/Haitian themed guest room appeals to adults and children alike.
Guest Bedroom with original Haitian wall art
The deck off the gallery has a BBQ and provides an opportunity to show off our new glass sculpture
Upper gallery contains TV/VCR with a library of children's movies and BBQ and patio to the right .
Cocktail hour on the upper master patio privides truly memorable sights.
Gentle Winds Condominum Villas Facing Ocean
New shutters in lower master top off the renovations
Lower master sea side bedroom opening to screened veranda
Sea Side Master Bath
Walk across lawn to the pool and beach
Guest Bath with Granite Counter and New Cabinets
Gentle Winds Rec Room with Library and Game Tables
Tennis Courts at Gentle Winds
Ocean view of Gentle Winds w/ Salt River beyond
Free Putting and Chipping greens
Gentle Winds is on the water and surrounded by rain forest
Showing off Mirror and Plantation Shutters
New Stereo and Bookcase
Parking immediately in front of unit
It's a short drive to Christiansted and its quaint harbor
Children's play area on beach
Recreation building with card tables, library, ping pong
Half court basketball with jungle gym beyond
Pirate ship bow in children's play area
Shuffleboard beside rec room with ping pong indoors and crab race track beyond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Christiansted, St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dee B
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our second year staying at Calypso Condo at Gentle Winds, and it was just as good as the first time. One of the reasons we enjoy the condo is that it is clean and has a large, fully stocked kitchen for meal preparation. The grill also came in handy for burgers and chicken. We would definitely stay at Calypso Condo again on a return trip; Barbara was helpful and quick to respond to my many questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2014
Many people become addicted to St. Croix and come year after year. We hope you will become one of them. It's a green tropical island and yet it is not touristy and full of high rises. Hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene...
Lebanon, Ohio
2 reviews
“Our stay at Gentle Winds St Croix was fantastic!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband, daughter,son in law and 10 year old granddaughter just returned from St Croix were we stayed ay Gentle Winds C-2. We have stayed at many condos and this one was fantastic. It had everything we could possibly need. There were beach towels galore. The storage closet had everything you could possibly need for snorlking, tennis, golf or just fun at the pool. The rooms were more than comfortable and spacious for our group of 5. Barbara always got back to me with any questions we had and was a fountain of information on all thing St Croix. I would recommend this condo and Barbara to anyone going to St Croix.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2014
It's nice to know that all that sports equipment is coming in handy and you thought our unit was "fantastic." Thanks for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2014
Having your unit pre-stocked with groceries is very convenient isn't it? I'll let Angela, our housekeeper, know that her exceptional cleaning efforts were noticed. Thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 5, 2014
So glad we exceeded expectations based on previous rentals. Angela, our housekeeper, will be especially pleased to hear that you made a point of commenting on cleanliness. Keeping an almost 2000 square foot unit right next to the beach clean and bright is a real challenge. Angela even washes the salt off of the screens each time she is there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2014
I think I spend most of my indoor time on the screened porch also, just looking at the gorgeous colors of the ocean and watching those palm fronds sway to and fro.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HildysGan...
Coldwater, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is my first review, so it may jump around a little, but here goes!

From the moment we made our reservation, Barb gave us limitless information! There were e-mail exchanges, links to websites and so on! In the condo, there is a folder and a drawer full of anything and everything you may need to know when staying in St. Croix! Everything was covered from car rentals to grocery stores, to the best jewelers to the finest hidden beaches! Nothing was missed!

Upon arrival, we found some very nice gifts that Barb had left for us! Champagne chilling in the fridge, some beautiful necklaces for our kids, a lovely book about island life and a credit at the snack shack on the beach! Very kind, Barb, thank you!!!!! We got in rather late, so it was nice that there was coffee there for us to have for the next morning, too!

The condo was perfect in every way! Our 15 year old had the front bedroom, king, with her own bathroom. Our 12 year old son had the rear bedroom with his own bath, too! My husband and I took the upstairs bedroom so we had a little extra space to spread out, and it was lovely! Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night was a nice departure to the snow and cold we left at home!

The kitchen, grill, and several eating areas enticed us to eat at home a bit. We had breakfast at the condo most every day. We would venture out and see what we could find for lunch, then have dinner at home if we weren't out exploring. Groceries are very expensive on the island. We splurged on Bryers ice cream ($10 a half gallon) and Totino's frozen pizzas ($8 each)! We went to the open-air market on Saturday, across from Pueblo, too. We bought fresh local fruit, veggies and fish. The fish that they sell looks like it is straight out of a salt water fish tank, so it's a little hard to eat since it's so pretty! You pick out your fish/lobster/conch, then they clean it right there for you! Other than that, we stuck to the basics, but it is such a nice condo for cooking and eating in that we didn't mind! There was no hurry to cook or eat at a certain time, so that made it even more pleasant!

The condo amenities were amazing! The beach was awesome, clean and had great snorkeling and swimming. The little shade huts and chairs were so nice to have! It must've been a perfect time to visit because it seemed like we had the place to ourselves! Around the corner from the beach is a tide pool area that we enjoyed exploring, too! The salt water pool was crystal clear and tidy all of the time! Great place! The snack shack was cute, but isn't guaranteed to be open every day. The girl that works there looks at the radar and if it shows rain, she won't open up. Of the seven days we were there, she was open three of them, even though the weather was only spotted rain? Make sure you have a Plan B if you want to eat there!

We tried to eat at as many places as we could. We love to experience the local fare, but only maybe a snack here and there, not big meals! We were a little surprised that most places served simple "american" food? You could get a hamburger, fries and chicken strips everywhere. We expected to find more local fish and seafood, but most places only listed one or two menu items along those lines. We found a lot of good seafood at Spratnet! Cute, little, outdoor bar in Cane Bay, and they have a lot of local seafood; shark bites, lobster bites, fresh lobster, conch, etc. Also, be sure to try Calivn's "papawanna" (sp?)! It's his own rum/brew concoction! Good stuff! In Cane Bay, we also tried Waves and Eat. Waves has a little grotto where we sat with the ocean crashing right next to us! My husband even picked out his own lobster right out of their trap! Eat was good, too, and had one or two local fish on special. At Salt River, the Pirate Bar had only "american" fried food, but the Pain Killer was great! Over on the docks at Christianstead, Angry Nate's is good! The tuna appetizer that is sort of tempura style is great! Around the corner, the Avacado Pit has good ice cream! Also in Cane Bay, Off the Wall had good looking pizza and calzones, and Above the Cliff has home made shrimp poppers that are so good! We went to Palms for the Mako-Jumbie show! The entertainment was great, food was so-so! The best meals we had were in our swim suits, on Barb's terrace, together around the little table, just my family! ;-)

Everything was great here, the island, the beaches, the relaxation, the condo, everything! Nice beds and pillows, fully stocked kitchen, great views and nice ocean breezes, handy washer and drier, and a shed full of things to use! On the days that we left the condo grounds, we'd grab Barb's beach chairs and towels, pack her cooler, bring her snorkel gear and sand toys, and we'd head out in search of a new beach! This was the highlight of our trip, not having anywhere to be at any certain time, just putzing around until we found a place to land for a few hours! Loved, loved, loved it!!!!!! We can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, low key atmosphere; not Spring Break'ish!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2014
Your title, Home Away from Home is exactly what we were striving for. Lovely view, delightful weather, up-to-date appointments all surrounded by beautiful art. Hopefully it's all anyone could ask for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewed April 4, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2014
I've always felt that a "home away from home" is the way to go for a family. So glad you agree. We hope to see you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing