We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Tavern 1844

Tavern 1844
Ranked #42 of 109 Restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: An Traditional Pub in paradise, with an enormous beer menu, ice cold drafts, and amazing burgers along with other incredible pub fare. With an air conditioned bar and isolated beer garden in the back, we have a variety of seating for you to choose.
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped in for a beer and to check the place out. It is small but very clean. The staff was very knowledgable of the beer list and the specials. We decided to stay and were treated with the best meal that we have ever had on St. Croix. We had a unique Mac-N-Cheese appetizer and split a burger. Both were cooked to perfection and tasted great. We will definitely return on our next visit to St. Croix.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    39
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here on the recommendation of a friend. The food was very good however there wasn't near enough of it especially for the price!!! I order the special of 4 ravioli...that was all that was on the plate...no side and no vegetable and that cost $22.00!!!!!! Not worth the cost...sorry to say even though it tasted very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great beer selection.”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have visited 1844. The first time, several months ago, was a much better experience. The food was better, cooked correctly, and came out much faster even though the restaurant was packed.

This last time, 2 of the 3 burgers ordered med and med-well were raw, and the french fries were cold. There was only one other table, yet we twice had to ask when our food was coming. Also the prices have been raised considerably. I was very disappointed, and while I will give it one more try before crossing it of my lists of places to eat in St. Croix, I feel the large beer selection is the best part of the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NICKATREST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stopped by thinking we'd grab bar food. The good news is they have it- great burgers, fries, oysters, lots of variety. The surprise is they also serve fine dining dishes, pork shanks, lamb shanks, pastas, fish, and yummy, fancy desserts. Cole is a fabulous waiter, and knows the menu In side and out, and makes excellent beer and cocktail recommendations. Love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diner55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonosi, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best burgers and beer list on island”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unquestionably Tavern 1844 was my weekly go-to for burgers and beer. I lived on STX for a while and this is the food I miss the most! Management has changed and there's a new chef at the grill, but I hope they continue Tavern's previous standard in faultlessly formed patties and inspired burger specials. Best beer list in C'sted and wonderful duck fat french fries!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 1844 also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Tavern 1844? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing