We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern 1844

Tavern 1844
Ranked #38 of 100 Restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: An Traditional Pub in paradise, with an enormous beer menu, ice cold drafts, and amazing burgers along with other incredible pub fare. With an air conditioned bar and isolated beer garden in the back, we have a variety of seating for you to choose.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stopped by thinking we'd grab bar food. The good news is they have it- great burgers, fries, oysters, lots of variety. The surprise is they also serve fine dining dishes, pork shanks, lamb shanks, pastas, fish, and yummy, fancy desserts. Cole is a fabulous waiter, and knows the menu In side and out, and makes excellent beer and cocktail recommendations. Love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diner55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    33
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonosi, Panama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best burgers and beer list on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unquestionably Tavern 1844 was my weekly go-to for burgers and beer. I lived on STX for a while and this is the food I miss the most! Management has changed and there's a new chef at the grill, but I hope they continue Tavern's previous standard in faultlessly formed patties and inspired burger specials. Best beer list in C'sted and wonderful duck fat french fries!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goddard, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best burger ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Went there for dinner and it was by far the best burger I have ever had! (Brie and arugula by the way). Not cheap but well worth the price! The waitress was great an very knowledgable about the beer and food. The beer list is extensive and has something for everything! Highly suggest!

Helpful?
1 Thank jshinliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atheneum
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bring a healthy appetite and some patience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, big beer selection, and excellent food. They're known for their huge craft burgers and, boy, did they ever live up of that reputation... Also tried the ravioli special of the day, which was equally impressive.
They could use another A/C unit and you will have to bring some patience. It's a small kitchen. I happily bridged that wait with the blue point oysters, though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atheneum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We really enjoyed the beer selection and the gastro-style burgers. Great service. We went twice during our stay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 1844 also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Tavern 1844? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing