We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Galangal

Galangal
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings, and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galngal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique and authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island. Dinner 5:30 - 9:30. Closed Sunday and Monday
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This restaurant was at top of our list to visit and though it is beautifully designed there was just something off the minute we were seated. Table was right next to bar, waitress had just a tiny bit of attitude, owner ignored us until we were presented with the bill, obnoxious group of 30- somethings who were texting while waiting for their table - nothing in particular but lots of little annoyances. The amuse bouche was best thing we all had - Thai Holy Basil and beef dish was not as expected, pad thai had good flavor , two appetizers - Sashimi tuna, and Yam Neua were good. They were out of the wine ordered and did sub an alternative at comparable price. It was expensive and mostly paying for décor/atmosphere which again was off set by other customers to a degree. Not good enough to go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ADavisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear A Davis:

We are sorry that you dining experience was underwhelming for you. We are working hard to offer good, consistent quality food and service. We understand that sometimes our guests next to you can be trouble when too laud or not fitting in to let you enjoy you food in peace and quiet. Maybe when you get to St. Croix next time you'll give us a second chance and we will make it up for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    63
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in St Croix”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Loved the upscale Thai decor of this restaurant. I had the beef red thai curry with rice and it was really good. The rice portions could be a little bigger. The ambience could be set a bit better by playing authentic Thai music. Overall a great evening out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your visit at Galangal and taking time for a review on TA. We are happy that you liked our food.
In a time of dwindling resources we are trying to serve portions which avoid waste. However we offer addition rice at no charge.
We hope that you will visit us again at your next trip to St. Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolute must while on St Croix!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We came from St Thomas for a weekend and wanted to try some of the best St Croix restaurants. Galangal was one of Trip Advisor's top choices and now we know why. Beautiful decor with intricate details such as carved wooden doors and panels from Indonesia is complemented by perfect music selection and lighting. Service is very good, suggestions for our appetizers were welcome and delicious - we had tuna and mussels, the last one is a must try! While choosing wine you will notice several German wines, not surprising with proprietor Arthur being German,and that dry Riesling sure went so well with our food. We had our 4 month old daughter with us and unfortunately had to ask for our entrees to be wrapped to go as she started fussing a bit and we didn't want to disturb other diners. We finished our Asian short ribs and night's special lamb rack at the hotel and I must say a separate Thank You to the chef for that potato cake with scallions and also the way they cook rice. Amazing. We also had a flourless chocolate cake with green tea gelato to round up this decadent meal. While waiting for some to go utensils at the bar I noticed how beautiful glassware was for the after dinner drinks. So if you are having a meal here,treat yourself to a little grappa or port in the end. Make a reservation as they seemed to be filling up early.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TanskiMcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your visit at Galangal and taking time to write a review on TA. We are always very happy when our customers appreciate our food, service and ambiance - it makes everything we do worthwhile.
Hope to see your again when visiting our Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin Island
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Thai experience”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food and atmosphere was wonderful. Great service, great food, great atmosphere, The service was very attentive and professional. Was there near the end of my stay in the Islands and so did not have the opportunity to return but certainly would have,,, Beautiful place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tw0star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We appreciate your visit at Galangal and your review on TA. Your positive comments will be shared with our staff who deserve all the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
226 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“The most exquisite looking restaurant we have ever dined in.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Galangal is an absolutely beautiful restaurant. The decor shows an incredible attention to detail - intricately carved wooden doors, acoustic tile on the ceiling, subdued lighting, beautiful Italian porcelain tile.
The service was professional, attentive, and friendly. The food was Thai with a bit of an island twist. Good, not great. A little spicier than we would have liked. Extensive wine list, but a bit pricey - as was the menu. Not unexpected at the finer restaurants on the island.
Galangal is a very good restaurant. The owner is omnipresent and is trying his best to make sure that everyone is enjoying their visit. I was a little taken aback when he handed us a little card at the end of our meal that is a solicitation for a Tripadvisor review. That might explain the fairly high number of posts for this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Galangal and thank you for taking time to review us on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing