We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Thai experience”
Review of Galangal

Galangal
Ranked #3 of 113 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $46
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings, and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galngal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique and authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island. Dinner 5:30 - 9:30. Closed Sunday and Monday
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food and atmosphere was wonderful. Great service, great food, great atmosphere, The service was very attentive and professional. Was there near the end of my stay in the Islands and so did not have the opportunity to return but certainly would have,,, Beautiful place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tw0star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We appreciate your visit at Galangal and your review on TA. Your positive comments will be shared with our staff who deserve all the credit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 332 of 573 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Galangal is an absolutely beautiful restaurant. The decor shows an incredible attention to detail - intricately carved wooden doors, acoustic tile on the ceiling, subdued lighting, beautiful Italian porcelain tile.
The service was professional, attentive, and friendly. The food was Thai with a bit of an island twist. Good, not great. A little spicier than we would have liked. Extensive wine list, but a bit pricey - as was the menu. Not unexpected at the finer restaurants on the island.
Galangal is a very good restaurant. The owner is omnipresent and is trying his best to make sure that everyone is enjoying their visit. I was a little taken aback when he handed us a little card at the end of our meal that is a solicitation for a Tripadvisor review. That might explain the fairly high number of posts for this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Galangal and thank you for taking time to review us on TA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had a fabulous dinner here recently. Everything at Galangal is top scale. Not like the Thai restaurants you see on the mainland. Food is fabulous, service outstanding and atmosphere is exceptional.

1  Thank vimidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your support of our restaurant and taking time to write a review on TA.
We are pleased that you liked our food, service and ambiance. We will share your comments with our staff who deserve all the credit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My family and I visited Galangal for the first time in May and could not believe how exceptional this restaurant is. We were all eager to return two weeks later and again, our meal was fabulous!
It is obvious that much emphasis is placed on consistency as well as their attention to detail.
The decor and ambience are lovely. The beautifully carved teak doors certainly make you feel as though you are stepping off the island for the evening as well as does the impeccable service. I've spent time in Bali and have ordered Tom Kha Gai at every Thai restaurant I've visited since and I've finally found at Galangal one that compares. This is hands down our new favorite restaurant on St. Croix! Kudos to the owners!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NOLAfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for your positive review on TA. We are always thankful when our guests enjoy our food, service and ambiance. We will share your comments with our staff who deserves all the credit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Galangal is one of those places - from the outside you could walk by and miss - but don't! Beautifully and warmly appointed with treasures from Asia - and food prepared with the finest attention to detail - you will enjoy a great visit if you go. We've eaten at galangal many times, have introduced friends and have never once had a less than exceptional experience.

The food is definitely Asian fusion (I would call it) and/but easy for someone who may not be familiar with curries and Thai dishes to find great food to their liking.

Do go -- galangal is at the top of the list for great dining in St Croix, USVI!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for your many visits to Galangal and for spending time to write a review on TA. It is heartwarming to read your comments which are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing