We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An Exceptional Thai experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
17 Church Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manitoulin Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Thai experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food and atmosphere was wonderful. Great service, great food, great atmosphere, The service was very attentive and professional. Was there near the end of my stay in the Islands and so did not have the opportunity to return but certainly would have,,, Beautiful place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tw0star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We appreciate your visit at Galangal and your review on TA. Your positive comments will be shared with our staff who deserve all the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    47
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“The most exquisite looking restaurant we have ever dined in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Galangal is an absolutely beautiful restaurant. The decor shows an incredible attention to detail - intricately carved wooden doors, acoustic tile on the ceiling, subdued lighting, beautiful Italian porcelain tile.
The service was professional, attentive, and friendly. The food was Thai with a bit of an island twist. Good, not great. A little spicier than we would have liked. Extensive wine list, but a bit pricey - as was the menu. Not unexpected at the finer restaurants on the island.
Galangal is a very good restaurant. The owner is omnipresent and is trying his best to make sure that everyone is enjoying their visit. I was a little taken aback when he handed us a little card at the end of our meal that is a solicitation for a Tripadvisor review. That might explain the fairly high number of posts for this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Galangal and thank you for taking time to review us on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous dinner here recently. Everything at Galangal is top scale. Not like the Thai restaurants you see on the mainland. Food is fabulous, service outstanding and atmosphere is exceptional.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vimidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your support of our restaurant and taking time to write a review on TA.
We are pleased that you liked our food, service and ambiance. We will share your comments with our staff who deserve all the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My family and I visited Galangal for the first time in May and could not believe how exceptional this restaurant is. We were all eager to return two weeks later and again, our meal was fabulous!
It is obvious that much emphasis is placed on consistency as well as their attention to detail.
The decor and ambience are lovely. The beautifully carved teak doors certainly make you feel as though you are stepping off the island for the evening as well as does the impeccable service. I've spent time in Bali and have ordered Tom Kha Gai at every Thai restaurant I've visited since and I've finally found at Galangal one that compares. This is hands down our new favorite restaurant on St. Croix! Kudos to the owners!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NOLAfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your positive review on TA. We are always thankful when our guests enjoy our food, service and ambiance. We will share your comments with our staff who deserves all the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't walk by without trying!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Galangal is one of those places - from the outside you could walk by and miss - but don't! Beautifully and warmly appointed with treasures from Asia - and food prepared with the finest attention to detail - you will enjoy a great visit if you go. We've eaten at galangal many times, have introduced friends and have never once had a less than exceptional experience.

The food is definitely Asian fusion (I would call it) and/but easy for someone who may not be familiar with curries and Thai dishes to find great food to their liking.

Do go -- galangal is at the top of the list for great dining in St Croix, USVI!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your many visits to Galangal and for spending time to write a review on TA. It is heartwarming to read your comments which are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing