We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
17 Church Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Galangal hits all the marks. Elegance, ambience, excellence. From the moment you walk through the door you notice the attention to detail that is Galangal’s standard. Every element has been carefully designed right down to the table settings. The décor is exquisite, adding to the ambience. The staff is very knowledgeable and attentive and the owners are always on hand. The food is consistently excellent and pleasing to the eye as well as the palate. The curries are spiced with a well-balanced blend of flavors. The delicious food is complimented by a great wine list. Save room for dessert! The Belgian flourless chocolate cake is not to be missed. Served warm, it is soft and decadent but not overly sweet. Pair it with one of their hand crafted sorbets. The green tea and ginger are always delicious but do try whatever the seasonal special is. Last night was Carambola Basil…fabulous! Hands down one of THE best restaurants on island and an experience you will long remember.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrucianSugarbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Galangal on TripAdvisor. Your comments make all efforts worth while and we will share your review with our staff who deserve all the credit.
Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    47
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansted
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“friendly, beautiful and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've been to Galangal plenty of times while i've lived on St. Croix and it is always a great experience! The food is amazing. The owners are very friendly along with the servers. Once you walk into Galangal your mouth will drop, they have definitely put alot in making the place look beautiful. They have hand carved doors, numerous pieces of artwork and decor, even the bathroom is gorgeous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time for your positive review on Galangal. Comments like yours make our efforts to to provide good service and high quality food worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Vermont
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“really beautiful decor, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was surprised what a good restauraunt this is. I live in NYC and an accostomed to restauraunts on carribean islands being OK but not great.

This place is great! Really amazing interior design. Good service, good food, and pretty good value as well

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments an TripAdvisor. Your positive review is appreciated especially from a New Yorker where many Thai restaurants compete with each other. My favored is Thai Shop House on 9th Avenue you may already know it if not - give it a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise in STX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was there on a weekend trip from St Thomas and since we do not have Thai in St Thomas this was a must do!

Great coconut soup and Pad Thai!

Ambiance is also a surprise! Very modern and makes you feel like you are a restaurant in the States, instead of the same old beachy feel!

Please move over to St Thomas!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your visit to our sister island and our restaurant. Your positive review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Agreat meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food, with excellent specials. Amazing ambiance. Helpful servers. Come before six P.M. for an amazing three course dinner at a great price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SweetlimeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
At Galangal we are always very happy to get a positive review. We will share your comments with our staff which are the ones who make it happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing