We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really beautiful decor, good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galangal

Galangal
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings, and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galngal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique and authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island. Dinner 5:30 - 9:30. Closed Sunday and Monday
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
158 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“really beautiful decor, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was surprised what a good restauraunt this is. I live in NYC and an accostomed to restauraunts on carribean islands being OK but not great.

This place is great! Really amazing interior design. Good service, good food, and pretty good value as well

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments an TripAdvisor. Your positive review is appreciated especially from a New Yorker where many Thai restaurants compete with each other. My favored is Thai Shop House on 9th Avenue you may already know it if not - give it a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    59
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise in STX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was there on a weekend trip from St Thomas and since we do not have Thai in St Thomas this was a must do!

Great coconut soup and Pad Thai!

Ambiance is also a surprise! Very modern and makes you feel like you are a restaurant in the States, instead of the same old beachy feel!

Please move over to St Thomas!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your visit to our sister island and our restaurant. Your positive review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Agreat meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food, with excellent specials. Amazing ambiance. Helpful servers. Come before six P.M. for an amazing three course dinner at a great price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SweetlimeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
At Galangal we are always very happy to get a positive review. We will share your comments with our staff which are the ones who make it happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Southeast Asian Ambiance in a Caribbean Locale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had seen the positive reviews of Galangal on TripAdvisor, and wanted to make a special stop during a recent trip to St. Croix. (Being vegetarian, there's not always a lot that I can eat, and especially love Thai food because of the vegetables after overlooking any fish sauce that might have accidentally fallen in...) I don't know what to rave about more -- the food or the ambiance.

The restaurant is decorated in a pan-Asian style with two huge chofas standing guard outside the doors, and two Chinese figures inside. There are some wonderful architectural panels throughout, but, for me the highlight was the hand carved door from Bali. I really wanted to stand there and admire the carving -- except that it isn't a good place to stand being by the bar and the kitchen entrance.

The food was delicious. Very delicately spiced -- I ordered a green curry. But, what was most amazing was the ginger sorbet which I so enjoyed. Just make sure to save room for dessert!

The service was gracious and attentive. My only comment is that I wish they were open for lunch too -- I would have gone back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitin878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a positive review on TripAdvisor. A satisfied guests is the greatest reward a restaurant can get. We will share your comment with our staff who deserve the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Pad Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Dinner with Friends, we attempt to try a new restaurant every 2 weeks. Heard good things about this restaurant, so called. Make sure to call and check open times and get a reservation since some nights this place is packed. We got an early reservation so there were few patrons. Service was excellent. Our server was appropriately attentive without being there too often. There were three of us, so we had different dishes of Pad Thai and shared. We ordered Beef, Chicken and Pork flavors and all of them were outstanding. We finished the night with several flavors of Gelato which were excellent. A little pricey but normal for vacation town on a vacation island. A must see when in Christiansted USVI.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
This is a belated thank you for your visit at Galangal and your kind review on TripAdvisor. It is nevertheless heartfelt because guests like you make all our efforts appreciated. We will forward your comments to our staff who deserve all the credit.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing