We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pad Thai”
Review of Galangal

Galangal
Ranked #6 of 109 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings, and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galngal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique and authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island. Dinner 5:30 - 9:30. Closed Sunday and Monday
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Dinner with Friends, we attempt to try a new restaurant every 2 weeks. Heard good things about this restaurant, so called. Make sure to call and check open times and get a reservation since some nights this place is packed. We got an early reservation so there were few patrons. Service was excellent. Our server was appropriately attentive without being there too often. There were three of us, so we had different dishes of Pad Thai and shared. We ordered Beef, Chicken and Pork flavors and all of them were outstanding. We finished the night with several flavors of Gelato which were excellent. A little pricey but normal for vacation town on a vacation island. A must see when in Christiansted USVI.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

This is a belated thank you for your visit at Galangal and your kind review on TripAdvisor. It is nevertheless heartfelt because guests like you make all our efforts appreciated. We will forward your comments to our staff who deserve all the credit.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 372 of 542 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The decor and atmostphere are wonderful with an Indonesian/Buddist interior design it is sexy and sophisticated.The food and service are great!! Arthur and Gregory are lovely host!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lav0nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for making the trip across the island to our restaurant - while the West surely has very nice restaurants.
We appreciate your positive review on TripAdvisor and we will share your comments with Gregory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food was good, but not exceptional and the service was lacking. My dessert, the ginger sorbet, was grainy. It seemed as if it had defrosted and then had been refrozen - perhaps due to the power issues on the island and not the fault of the restaurant. The atmosphere is lovely and we were greeted warmly, but were mostly forgotten thereafter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are sorry that your ginger ice cream was not up to your expectation. And yes you are right the ginger when making the ice cream was young and contained too much liquid - which counts for the crystalized feel. We are now making sure (thanks to your comment) that this will not happened in the future. Thank you for you visit and your constructive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we visited twice during our stay-this restaurant exceeds our expectations-my brother-in-law has severe peanut allergies and our waitress (from Chicago) assured us of the care the kitchen takes in preparation and the menu made it very easy to avoid peanuts and peanut oil. From the amuse bouche to the flour less cake everything was superb!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maryhonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great Asian food, wonderful decor, and a good location near the fort in Christiansted. For me the seafood is always a good choice as it's fresh from local waters.

Thank Fly_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing