We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful atmosphere-wonderful food”
Review of Galangal

Galangal
Ranked #3 of 108 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings, and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galngal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique and authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island. Dinner 5:30 - 9:30. Closed Sunday and Monday
Arnold, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wonderful atmosphere-wonderful food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we visited twice during our stay-this restaurant exceeds our expectations-my brother-in-law has severe peanut allergies and our waitress (from Chicago) assured us of the care the kitchen takes in preparation and the menu made it very easy to avoid peanuts and peanut oil. From the amuse bouche to the flour less cake everything was superb!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryhonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    65
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TUS
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A St Croix must”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great Asian food, wonderful decor, and a good location near the fort in Christiansted. For me the seafood is always a good choice as it's fresh from local waters.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fly_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As we expected...”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

St Croix has more quality restaurants than we would expect. Galangal is among the best we have enjoyed. Sophisticated ambiance; professional, engaging service; marvelous asian style food, magical desserts: all shared in an elegantly comfortable setting. Delightful and satisfying evening. Make reservations and enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill_ATL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Your kind comments on TripAdvisor make our efforts worthwhile and are greatly appreciated.
We will share them with our staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best thai restaurant I've ever been to”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I went twice during my stay. Highly recommend it! Great food and staff! Order a Hoegaarden beer that pairs perfectly with the thai dishes!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Visiting Galangal twice during your stay on St. Croix is the best compliment which we will share with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of, if not THE Best”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've held off on doing reviews of restaurants here on St. Croix because I've lived here for over 27 years and don't want to leave anyone out. For a small island there are a LOT of wonderful restaurants but Galangal truly stands out as one of the BEST. The service is always spot on, you are greeted with an amuse bouche (I had to look up the spelling in Wikipedia), the wine list is excellent and the food amazing. I love the pork tenderloin (so tender it cuts with a fork), and any of the curries. I usually get a side of chopped Thai peppers to kick it up a notch. And ending with one of their gelatos (ginger is my favorite) is just heavenly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stcroixscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Ed and Molly:

Thank you for visiting our restaurant over and over again and sharing your dining experience with TripAdvisors readership. We are always happy to see your friendly faces. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing